Click to Close (The Homelanders #3  : The Truth of the Matter by Andrew Klavan)The Truth of the Matter by Andrew Klavan
Published by Thomas Nelson

Charlie West has just woken up in a terrorist torture chamber, with no memory of the last year of his life. All he knows is that he must find the agent named Waterman, who will hopefully shed some light on the memories Charlie will need to unlock in his mind. What he doesn’t know is that a group of terrorists, intent on protecting their cause no matter the cost, are searching for Charlie, and because he’s been trying to stop them for the last year, they plan to kill him as soon as they track him down.

This is going to be a very short review because, as this book was the third in a series that I hadn’t read the rest of, I can’t say it did much for me. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy the book, but rather that I was somewhat lost throughout the majority of the novel. The author does a decent job catching the reader up through flashbacks, and the fact that Charlie needs to learn what has happened to him certainly helps, but I still felt like I was dropped into the middle of this thing out of the clear blue sky with no understanding of what was going on.

That’s not to say that The Truth of the Matter is a bad book – in fact, the writing is quite good and the story is definitely engaging – but it would have been a much better book for me personally if I was caught up on the rest of the series.

If you or someone in your life is looking for an action-packed novel with a Christian theme, the Homelanders series by Andrew Klavan would be a good choice, but my advice is to start from the beginning of this series for maximum enjoyment.