The Sunday Salon.comGood afternoon and welcome to The Sunday Salon.๐Ÿ™‚ Things around here have been kind of crazy so I haven’t been doing as many regular updates as I’d like. That said, it’s already almost 4 pm here and I’m just sitting down to write my Sunday Salon so you can imagine that this weekend is no different! But there are a couple of things I’d like to update y’all on so here goes.

First of all, I was so pleased and excited to be accepted as a judge for the INSPY awards this year in the category of Literature for Young People. This past week, the winners were announced, so please stop over there and check it out if you haven’t already. I have not reviewed any of the five books that were contenders this year – yet – but I am planning on posting all five days this week with each day devoted to one of the novels. So far I only have one of the posts written but I am determined to get those done. So watch for my thoughts on each book this week!

In other faith-based bookish news, yesterday Amy announced that the Faith and Fiction Roundtable is going to be quite a bit different in 2012. If you don’t recall, Faith and Fiction Roundtable is a group of bloggers who read and discuss faith-based books together, and then everyone posts about each book on the same day – the idea being to generate some real discussion about the books. I participated this year, when it was a specific group of bloggers – the same people all year – reading and discussing the six books. It has been a great experience for me personally, although I know that Amy has been less than satisfied with it overall. So she’s decided to change it up and leave it open to anyone who wants to participate! Plus, in 2012 we’ll only be reading four books, which is a more doable commitment, I think. So please pop on over to her blog, check out the selections, and join us next year for one or all of them!

I have been thinking a lot about what I want my reading to consist of next year. I have decided to eliminate 95% of review copies, for one thing. Basically, I’ll cease accepting all review copies with the following exceptions: TLC Book Tours (and I only plan to do one per month), netGalley, and audiobooks. For another thing, this year I am going to get serious about all those unread books on my shelves, and the way I’m going to do that is by joining theย TBR Double Dare. I honestly don’t know if I can stick it out all three months, but it’s something I would like to focus more heavily on all year. In fact, I’m setting a goal for myself of reading 75 of my own books next year (books I have owned prior to January 1, 2012). That sounds like a lot, but it’s probably only going to be about half my books for the year so if I can do that I’ll be thrilled.

As far as what’s been going on with me aside from bloggy stuff, not much besides work, to be honest. I am very ready to have a couple of days off for Christmas (just Christmas Day and the day after, sadly) and I’m REALLY excited for New Years weekend, when I will be traveling to Chicago! For my Christmas/birthday present my sweet hubby was generous enough to buy me a plane ticket, after I explained to him that the only thing I wanted for Christmas was to see my family. It worked, and I’m so excited to spend three days with some of my favorite people as I conclude 2011 and move on to 2012.

What about you? What do you have going on this weekend, and what are your plans for the holidays?