Falling for Me: How I Hung Curtains, Learned to Cook, Traveled to Seville, and Fell in Love by Anna David
Published by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins
Review copy provided by the publisher in conjunction with TLC Book Tours

At the age of 35, Anna David had begun to wonder if her choice of putting her career before finding love was the right one. When she comes across the book Sex and the Single Girl, written in the sixties by Helen Gurley Brown, she connects to the message immediately and decides to use Gurley Brown’s advice as a sort of road map for her life. She embarks on a personal journey to make over her life – learning skills she’d never before attempted such as cooking, dressing well, and decorating her apartment – as well as conquering her biggest fears in life. Along the way, David attempts to find the perfect guy to share her new and improved life with, but the person she ends up falling in love with is herself.

In the same vein as Eat, Pray, Love or The Happiness Project, Falling for Me is a quirky but fun memoir about one woman’s journey to self-acceptance and eventually truly feeling at peace in her own skin. The road she takes to get there is full of hilarious moments and devastating setbacks but through it all, Anna David does persevere. Reading her story was an enjoyable experience as she is funny, fun, and ultimately very relatable.

It’s important, for me personally, that when I read these types of memoirs I need to actually like the personality of the author. Otherwise, I end up feeling irritated with their entire story and resent having to read it. Luckily, in the case of Falling for Me, I really did find Anna David to be an interesting person and a woman with whom I could relate. While I am happily married, I could relate to many of her insecurities about herself personally and to her issues with her self-esteem. I too have to fight the running dialogue in my head that tells me I’m not smart enough, good enough, pretty enough, etc. (as I think many women do), and while my issue is not in searching for that perfect person I do relate to the issue of loving the parts of myself that are less than ideal. I related quite a bit to David’s struggle to accept the things about herself that she didn’t love but are simply part of her personality or background or upbringing or whatever. I have to say, though, that some readers might find David’s constant negative self-talk annoying, but I totally got it. Aspects of her personality reminded me of myself, so I connected to her easily, which helped me to enjoy her story.

All of the above rambling is to say that I really did enjoy Falling for Me. I liked that although Anna David certainly wanted to find the perfect man for her, the point of her quest was not to find another person, but to find herself. I liked that she is funny and was easy for me to relate to. Her writing is very well done, easy to follow, and the book moves smoothly from chapter to chapter (something I don’t always find to be the case with memoirs). I definitely would recommend reading Falling for Me if these kinds of memoirs are your cup of tea.