BossypantsBossypants by Tina Fey
Published by Hachette Audio, an imprint of Hachette

Even as a little girl, Tina Fey always dreamed of being a comedian. Now that her dreams have come true, the creator of 30 Rock and long time Saturday Night Live writer is ready to tell her story. Fey takes the reader on a journey through her childhood and through her career as she details the ups and downs of being a woman in a man’s world. Along with this is her signature witty commentary on motherhood, Hollywood beauty standards, being Sarah Palin, and more.

I loved watching Tina Fey when she was on SNL and I’ve been a fan of the show 30 Rock since its inception, so I was really looking forward to reading Bossypants when I first heard about it. When I heard from another blogger that Fey narrates the audio herself, I was sold on the audiobook. I popped it in my car during a recent mini road trip, and that was the perfect choice because the book kept me laughing out loud for the entirety of my boring drive. Tina Fey is completely awesome and I loved listening to her read Bossypants.

So much of what Fey said in this book was not only entertaining, but insightful as well. She discussed being a woman in comedy (traditionally a man’s world), being a working mother, and what it was like to impersonate Sarah Palin, as well as many more hilariously funny stories from her life. While I have to admit that I would have been happy with a little more depth to what Fey was discussing, I still enjoyed the balance between honesty and humor. Her stories were funny while at the same time actually meaning something. It was a nice balance.

I definitely would recommend getting Bossypants in audio if you are planning to read it because the transcript from her skit with Amy Poehler on SNL (with Fey playing Palin and Poehler playing Hillary Clinton) is on the audio in its entirety. So funny! I really loved listening to it, even though I watched it on TV at the time, it reminded me of how hilarious these two women were together.

Bossypants is a fabulous book by the amazingly intelligent and hysterical Tina Fey, and I highly recommend it.