TSS: Lazy Weekend

Good morning everyone and happy Sunday Salon! I am lucky enough to be enjoying a long (for me) weekend – I didn’t have to work yesterday! I haven’t announced this publicly yet, but here goes: I got a promotion at work, which is super exciting, so currently I’m working on a training and development program. So for these next four weeks I should be off every Saturday, which to me is beyond fabulous. As for my promotion goes, I work at a financial institution (a bank) and I’m being promoted from banker to branch manager. Which means, after my program is all said and done, when you go into a bank and say “I need to speak to the manager”, that person will be me! I’m excited but also a bit nervous because it is a huge responsibility which will entail working many hours and dealing with many stresses. But I feel ready for what’s to come and I know my training program – which is about 4 months long in total – will prepare me even further. So yay!

So what did I do with my time off yesterday? Absolutely nothing, which is the best ever! I laid out by the pool in the morning, came home and finished a book, ran a few errands, came home and finished another book, and by then it was time to get ready for church. After church, hubby and I went to our favorite local Mexican restaurant for dinner. It was a fabulous day. Today I think I will get some blog posts scheduled, maybe read a little, and try to meet a friend for lunch. I’m trying to enjoy as much time to myself as I can because once my new job actually starts in a few months I will be turning the vast majority of my energy and attention to work. So I need to enjoy this time while it lasts!

Oh, one more thing – I need to announce the winner of The Leftovers by Tom Perotta! The winner is Angel from Mermaid Vision Books! Congratulations Angel! I have sent you an email letting you know. 🙂

What are you up to this lovely Sunday?

19 thoughts on “TSS: Lazy Weekend

  1. Congrats on the promotion! Where I work I get every other weekend off and my weekends off are like little treasures 🙂 Good luck and hope you have a great week!

  2. So proud of you with your promotion! And yay for some free Saturdays! You are going to be an excellent bank manager, and all that hard work is going to pay off. Your Saturday sounds like a dream to me. I can’t remember the last time I got to relax all day. You deserve it.

  3. Yay for promotions! I am so excited that you got such a great new opportunity! Your Saturdays being free for awhile is a nice perk too! I love it when I have a Saturday to just laze around and read, and I can imagine that after working all those Saturdays it was probably a real luxury for you! Good luck with the new job

    1. It was a luxury for sure. I’m trying to stay in the moment, realize it won’t last, and enjoy the time I can get when I can get it. I know that before long I will be working 50+ hour weeks and turn into a complete stressball! 😉

  4. Congratulations on your promotion, that’s fantastic! And yay for some free Saturdays, too! It sounds like you are enjoying your free time quite well! Great job finishing 2 books yesterday!
    Enjoy the rest of your “lazy weekend” and good luck with the training program!

  5. Hi Heather, well done on the promotion, and enjoy your weekends off from now on hopefully. I’ve been in the garden, and cooking. Just been sitting reading Sue Grafton. I’m on D for deadbeat.

  6. congrats on your promotion! well deserved i’m sure!! i think it’s a great idea to take as much time for yourself as you can now b/c later on you may not have that luxury. looking forward to you next posts!

Leave a Reply

