A Place of YesA Place of Yes: 10 Rules for Getting Everything You Want Out of Life by Bethenny Frankel
Published by Touchstone, an imprint of Simon & Schuster

Bethenny Frankel has been through countless struggles and hardships in both her personal life and her professional life, and from these challenges she has learned many important lessons. In this book, she illustrates the 10 rules she followed which led her to have a fabulous marriage, a beautiful daughter, great friends, and an amazing career, all at once. Along with each rule are funny and sometimes bittersweet stories of the trials and tribulations that she had to go through in order to fully understand and live out the principles outlined in the book. Accompanied by Frankel’s trademark sarcasm and wit, A Place of Yes is laugh-out-loud funny while also being a valuable resource.

I make no bones about the fact that I am a huge fan of Bethenny Frankel. I think she is absolutely hysterical and could probably read from the phone book and make me crack up laughing. As Frankel was filming her TV show, Bethenny Getting Married?, she was writing this book, so I’ve been anticipating reading A Place of Yes ever since watching that show. And I have to tell you, I was not disappointed with this book one bit.

There were two things I loved about this book the most: first, Frankel’s sarcastic style shines through in her writing and I was hanging on to every word, laughing and loving it, and second, I loved getting a glimpse into her past when she talked about her family, exes, business failures, etc. The 10 rules, for me, were really secondary to the act of learning more about this personality who I have come to respect and enjoy. However, the 10 rules actually were helpful, although I hesitate to cause a reader to think of this book as a self-help book. I think it’s more like a book about what has worked for Frankel in finding success and happiness in her life, and she turned it into a succinct 10 rules in order to share her stories with her fans and readers.

As far as the rules themselves, I do agree with many of them and would suggest that A Place of Yes is a helpful tool if you are in pursuit of letting go of whatever is holding you back and grabbing the reins of a happy and successful life. I personally am pretty happy with both my personal and professional life right now, but I did find some good tips on how to even enhance what I’m currently doing. For example, the rule “Everything’s Your Business” encourages readers to treat every interaction, conversation, and introduction as if it could help one’s goals at some point during the future. Don’t make a poor first impression because you don’t think the person you are meeting will be important to you – you never know! So always act professional, always put your best self out there as if you were running your own business and every single conversation can help you be more successful. Obviously Frankel explains it way better than I just did, but you get the point. I like this rule because I do tend to brush off conversations and interactions I have no interest in, and it made me think that maybe I should be more careful in these situations, I should treat every person like they could mean something to me down the road. This rule in particular really made me think.

Anyway, I loved A Place of Yes and would definitely recommend it. Especially if you are already a fan of Bethenny Frankel. And if you’re not, this book just might cause you to become one!