The Madonnas of Echo ParkThe Madonnas of Echo Park by Brando Skyhorse
Published by Free Press, an imprint of Simon & Schuster
Review copy provided by the publicist

When the girls and women from the Mexican neighborhood of Echo Park, Los Angeles gather together on a street corner to practice a scene from a music video, they are caught in the middle of a drive-by shooting and one little girl is killed. In the aftermath of the attack, Aurora Esperanza’s relationship with her mother, Felicia, grows increasingly strained as Felicia, a housekeeper, forges a relationship with the woman she works for. Meanwhile, Aurora’s father reflects on the fact that he’s been separated from his wife and daughter – by his own doing – for so many years, and other people in the community of Echo Park go on with their lives as usual. This novel, which is more like short stories within a novel, brilliantly illustrates how all of these lives are interconnected.

The Madonnas of Echo Park was, for me, a lovefest I completely did not expect. I fell completely in love with these characters, Skyhorse’s gorgeous writing, and the structure of the novel – everything about it worked in perfect harmony for me.

The blurb on the publisher’s website for this novel compares it to the movie Crash, and while I hadn’t seen that comparison before reading the novel, I think it’s a very appropriate comparison to make. Being that Crash is one of my all-time favorite movies, I suppose it makes perfect sense that I would love this book too. The thing is that the book (and the movie) is really a series of short stories, with characters from each of the stories being a part of other characters’ lives from other stories too. Each chapter could easily stand on its own, but you really need to read the entire book to get the true impact of what Skyhorse did with these characters and their stories. In fact, I may just read it again from the beginning because it did take me a chapter or two to really get into it. It would be interesting to read it again from the beginning, knowing what’s to come.

Brando Skyhorse’s writing is absolutely brilliant. His writing is lush, descriptive, and gorgeous without even once being over the top. He created these amazingly realistic characters, and then treated the reader to some of the most beautiful writing I’ve read in a while. Fabulous.

I loved this unique short story/novel experience so much that I really hope you’ll give it a try. I couldn’t put this book down and I cannot more highly recommend it. I loved everything about The Madonnas of Echo Park and I can’t think of any other way to say that – just read it!