CrushCrush: 26 Real-Life Tales of First Love edited by Andrea N. Richesin
Published by Harlequin Nonfiction, an imprint of Harlequin
Review copy provided by the author

This fabulously romantic collection has twenty-six bestselling authors telling the reader about their first crushes. This book will have you delighting in these tales of first love, and also have you remembering with fondness your own first crush.

Essay collections can go either way for me. Sometimes I love the fact that I am reading short bursts of nonfiction, enriching my mind without really giving too much effort (sounds terrible, but it’s kind of true), but sometimes I feel the collection drags on without much purpose and I end up being bored. Thankfully, Crush was of the first variety for me. I loved getting a peek into these authors’ first crush stories and hung onto just about every word written here.

What I most loved about Crush is that Richesin got some really big-name authors to contribute to the collection. This was great for two reasons. First of all, it gives the reader a little peek inside a favorite author’s mind and life, and second of all, it makes for some very well-written essays.

I definitely recommend picking up Crush – it is sweet, funny, and reminded me what it felt like to have that first crush. I think it will have the same effect on you!