The Sunday Salon

The Sunday Salon.com

Good morning and happy Sunday everyone! This morning finds me slightly exhausted after a long work week and then a fabulous evening out with some friends last night. As you probably know, I’m a bit of a homebody so I don’t find myself having nights out on a too frequent basis, so it was nice to get out to Mojo’s Cajun Bar and Grille for a coworkers’ going away party last night. The food was good, the drinks were delicious, and the company – yes, the same people I spend all day with, every day – was excellent. It’s always fun to have a night like that every once in a while. Plus, hubby was out of town for the weekend so if I didn’t go out with friends I probably would have been bored since Saturday is typically our date night.

Anyway, today I plan on the usual Sunday stuff – a few errands, writing up a few blog posts, and hopefully lots of reading. The sun hasn’t shown itself much yet today – it’s been a very stormy weekend – but if it does decide to come out, I’ll head over to the pool for a bit.

I’m trying a new thing with the blog where I post three reviews every week. What I’ve always done in the past is post very sporadically. I’d be good and do a post every day for two weeks or so, and then I’d slack off and the blog would be empty for a week, etc. Not good. I think disciplining myself to three reviews per week will create more consistency in my life and obviously in my blog. I did this last week and I think it worked well, I plan to get three reviews written today so I can schedule them for this week. Let me know your thoughts on this new idea of mine.

Well that’s all I’ve got for now. I’m off to get the blog writing started. What are you up to this Sunday?

14 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon

  1. I like your idea! I need to get back into a blogging rhythm. I have fallen off woefully and haven’t posted since the middle of the month. :( I need to make a rule for myself, review books within X days of finishing them, and schedule it for the future if I can’t post it right away. Three reviews a week is what I should aim for too.

    • Aww! I can’t really hold myself to writing the reviews within a certain time frame from finishing the book, since I typically only write reviews on Sundays, but I do really hope that doing 3 per week will work for me. Good luck with that yourself!

  2. It has been pretty rainy lately, but I don’t mind it so much. Makes for good snuggling and reading! I would give you a thumbs up on the three-reviews-a-week thing, only because that is what I do. I have a very specific schedule that I adhere to each week, and it gives me comfort! I keep a blogging calendar and keep track of what goes where. My biggest problem is just sitting down to write the reviews, but when I get energy I get ahead and it gives me some buffer. Takes the pressure off.

    I’ve never been to Mojo, but my son has been there with a friend and LOVED it. We did Del Frisco’s last night for my birthday and I must say it is nice to not have to cook now and again. I love weekends. Can’t wait to see you at book club and catch up!

    • I do keep a blogging calendar but only for review books, library books and my own books (if I ever get to them) I read and review whenever I feel like it. But I think 3x per week is a good goal, it gives my blog enough posts to stay active while not putting the pressure on myself to be a review writing machine! I really want to go to Del Frisco’s, I’ve heard a lot of good stuff about that place. Mojo’s was fun – a very cool environment. I would definitely recommend it.

  3. That sounds like a good plan! I’m doing a similar kind of thing, only making each short review of a book its own post instead of mushing them all together in a TSS. :)

    And I’m glad you’ve had a fun weekend!

    • Yes, I’m loving your new style of blogging! I think we need to always remember to keep the pressure off of ourselves and just enjoy the process of reading and reviewing books. :)

  4. Your idea sounds like a good one. I also post three times a week, on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and it works out well for me. The only time I vary that routine is if I have a book tour on another day. I am glad that you got the chance to go and hang out with buddies this weekend. It sounds like you had a nice time! It’s been a quiet weekend around here as well, what with all the rain. I have been relaxing and working my way through a chunkster. Hope that the rest of your weekend is fun and peaceful!

    • I’m thinking MWF works well except it seems that most of the TLC tours I do are on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so I suppose I won’t concern myself too much with the specific days of the week as long as I post 3x.

  5. I like the goal and admire the discipline and dedication it takes to achieve 3 reviews a week. I’m blown away, actually. I do well to read 3 books a month, let alone write reviews (which isn’t my thing so most times reviews are guest bloggers/reblogs). An interesting development since I subscribed to your blog several months ago – before starting the latest book that has moved to the top of the pile, I check your blog to see if you’ve reviewed it! Kudos to you.

  6. We’ve been meaning to go to Mojo’s forever… is the Church street one the only one? We go to tons of Magic games and wanted to go there one day before or after the game. Glad to her it’s good. Three reviews a week is great! Don’t burn yourself out though!

    • I don’t know if there’s any other locations but I did go to the one on Church St. It was really good! And a fun atmosphere. If you drink, try the watermelon margarita… it was fab. :)

Leave a Reply

