Audiobook Week: My Audiobook Year

Today marks the first day of Jen @ Devourer of BooksAudiobook Week! As many of you know, I have been listening to audio books for about two years now I absolutely love them. I used to listen exclusively in my car while driving, but I’ve recently taken to downloading books on my iPod also and listening while I’m cooking, cleaning, getting ready in the mornings, etc. You would think that I’d have trouble following two audiobooks at one time, but it has been a piece of cake, and has allowed me to increase my reading when the actual time I have for reading these days has steadily decreased.

Anyway, for today’s topic I wanted to tell you some of my favorite audiobook finds from the last year. Links will take you to my reviews.

Still Missing by Chevy Stevens – this is an extremely creepy, horrifying story about a girl who was kidnapped and held captive for over a year. The audiobook perfectly captures the terrifying nature of the story, and I absolutely loved listening to it.

Columbine by Dave Cullen – possibly my favorite audiobook I’ve ever listened to. Amazing.

The Nobodies Album by Carolyn Parkhurst – this book is excellent and the audio version is as well.

Gods in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson – I really enjoyed the book and the narrator’s voice, inflection, and tone were perfect for the story.

The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels by Ree Drummond – if you are going to read this book, the audio is an absolute must. Ree Drummond narrates it herself, which causes the experience to feel more like having a conversation with a friend and less like reading a book. Fabulous.

Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner – I haven’t reviewed this one yet but the audio version was very good. I loved the story, one of Weiner’s best in my opinion.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – I have slowly been making my way through the series on audio, although I’ve read them in print many times. Jim Dale is probably the most talented narrator I’ve ever listened to, he has a different voice for every single character and the listening experience is just phenomenal.

So do you listen to audiobooks? What are some of your favorites?

23 thoughts on “Audiobook Week: My Audiobook Year

  1. You should try the English HP audiobooks. Steven Fry narrates and just has the perfect English accent for them– just as you imagine they might have played out in Rowling’s head.

    Quick question, I’ve been desperately searching for Ree Drummond’s audiobook but to no avail. Where did you get yours?

    1. I have heard that! I will have to try that after I finish the Jim Dale ones. As for Ree Drummond’s book, I got it from my library on Overdrive, which is a rental system for digital copies of audiobooks. YOu just download them to your computer or ipod or whatever, and boom there ya go. Definitely check and see if your library has Overdrive or something similar.

  2. Still Missing was an incredible book, wasn’t it? We talked a little about how I do with audiobooks the other day, but I am trying to work them into my schedule more readily. I sometimes get distracted when I am listening, which can sometimes be a problem.

    1. I totally agree! I am a good at multi-tasking so I don’t tend to have a problem following the audiobook as long as i am doing something else. But if I tried to just sit still and listen, forget it – my mind would be wandering all over the place.

  3. I’ve been thinking about listening to the Harry Potter series for a while now. I read the series once and really would like to experience it again!

    I’ve been listening to some of Iris Johansen’s books and the narrator they use, Jennifer Van Dyck is fantastic!

    My intro post can be found here.

  4. I’ve started listening to an audiobook on my ipod (in addition to the one in the car) this year, too. Columbine is on my audio wishlist, but it sounds like it should be at the top!

  5. I do listen to audiobooks and have been enjoying everyone’s suggestions. It seems Joshilyn Jackson’s books are very popular. I love anything read by Maggi-Meg Reed.

  6. I loved The Nobodies Album! And my 13-year-old son and I are making our way through the Harry Potter series on audio and loving it – a great way for a reread.

  7. You and I do audio a lot alike… I have three going at once – one in the bathroom, one in the kitchen, and one in my car 🙂

    I have read Columbine – but not listened to it…. now I think I must 🙂

    1. Yes, one at a time would not work for me since I do CDs in my car and can’t hook up my Ipod there. People ask me how I can keep track of two but I have no problem! Sounds like you don’t have a problem with that either. 🙂

  8. Jim Dale is an excellent narrator. I also like Barbara Rosenblatt- she did many of the Janet Evanovich books, Diane Mott Davison & Lisa Scottoline books. Loved the Thirteenth Tale on audio, The Help, The Historian, Swain Theives, The Art of RAcing in the Rain, Edgar Sawtelle– I could go on, & on.. Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

