Armchair BEA: Nurturing Relationships

Today’s topic for Armchair BEA is all about nurturing blogging relationships. While I have formed relationships with various authors, publishers, and bloggers over the past three and a half years of blogging, I want to talk about one particular (very recent) relationship that has meant a lot to me.

Just over a month ago, I met up with several Florida bloggers for a dinner after the UCF Book Festival. I was sad that I wasn’t able to attend the book festival, as my work schedule got in the way, but thrilled that I was going to meet bloggers in person for the first time ever. We all had such a fabulous time and I’m definitely hopeful that we can do something again in the future with these Florida bloggers.

While at dinner, Sandy and Heather mentioned that they are in a book club together (which I think I already knew, hazily, from reading their blogs) and invited me to join. I can’t tell you how excited I was – would you believe I’ve never been in a book club before? So I happily accepted, and last week I came to their book club meeting for the first time to discuss Bent Road by Lori Roy. All the ladies were so welcoming and friendly, and I honestly had such a fantastic time. I felt so much a part of them from the moment I walked into the woman’s home. It was really a fantastic experience.

So, thank you Heather and Sandy for inviting me, and I’m looking forward to getting to know you both even more in the months to come. 🙂

Now I have a book club, and new friends, all thanks to blogging. Yay for book bloggers – they are really the best people around.

18 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Nurturing Relationships

  1. I was so glad to have you there, Heather! It always seems funny to me the way that book bloggers just meeting each other for the first time can feel like intimate friends immediately, but that’s one of the things I love. You are certainly a welcome addition to our group, and I do look forward to getting to know you a lot better! Thank you for your wonderful shout-out today!

    1. Thank you so much, Heather! I agree with you about feeling like friends right from the start – I truly feel like I’ve known you and Sandy much longer than I have.

  2. Sounds like a great thing to have happened! I hadn’t ever gone to a book club until fairly recently, either … and am very glad now that I have. Can’t imagine how awesome it would be to find that as a result of meeting other bloggers!

  3. That put a tear in my eye! Well, I think I can speak for Heather and myself that we were just as excited to meet you and the rest of the bloggers, and even more excited for you to be part of our book club. I couldn’t be more tickled. It really is a great group of women who love everyone that loves books (and wine). And it is a guaranteed way that I will see you regularly!

    1. awww. And also, I didn’t say this in the post but the fact that there is wine at book club makes it all the more fantastic. 🙂 But seriously thank you again for including me, I’m so thrilled to have met both of you.

  4. Very interesting post. What I liked best is how the virtual connection of bloggers became a personal face to face relationship. Neat how technology helps create connections. However, in the end, the warm feeling of a handshake and being with people with whom you can share and enjoy the love of reading is priceless!
    Thank you for sharing your experience.

  5. 472983 881539Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read? 921172

Leave a Reply

