The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels – A Love Story by Ree Drummond
Published by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins

Many people know Ree Drummond from her very popular blog, The Pioneer Woman, but in this memoir she takes the reader on a journey through her past, giving her fans all the details of her love story with her husband, a man she calls Marlboro Man.

I am a fan of PW’s blog but haven’t been reading it all that long, perhaps a year at most. For me, although I had an idea of the story behind Ree’s romance with her husband, most of the details she provided in this book were new to me. I have heard, however, that for long-time fans of Ree’s blog, this book was somewhat repetitive. Luckily for me, I didn’t have that problem and thus enjoyed reading this story very much.

I have to admit, I’m a sucker for a sweet romance and what Ree Drummond gave me in this book definitely fit the bill. What can I say, I just love the idea of love! The story of Ree and Marlboro Man is such a sweet one, he really won her over with his charm and calm demeanor and she literally changed her entire life in order to be with him – what’s not to love about that? What I also love about their story is that they both allow each other to be who they are. Put more coherently, they each have their own quirks and neither one tries to change the other – they love the parts of one another that other people might find funny or irritating or whatever. It was just such a fun ride to read about a real couple truly in love.

What I’ve seen some readers complain about is that Drummond didn’t really get too detailed about Marlboro Man’s personality – it was all about how he looked, how he smelled, etc. but some readers didn’t feel like they got to know him as a person. While I can see where they are coming from (there was a lot of “and boy did his butt look good in those jeans” type comments), I have to disagree. I think Drummond showed us who her husband is by his actions, by how he took care of her and exposed her to life on the ranch, by how he proposed sweetly and loved her family and gave her gifts from his heart. Sure, she didn’t document many heartfelt conversations between the two of them, but those things are personal. What I got out of this book is that Marlboro Man is a hardworking guy, deeply in love with his wife and his family, and not afraid to show it. Those are not bad characteristics for a man to have!

I want to mention that I listened to The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels instead of reading it in print, and I’m so happy I did that because looking back I wouldn’t have it any other way. Drummond narrates the book herself, and it gives it such a great feel – like it’s the reader and her, sitting down together with a glass of wine, reminiscing about her life. I truly felt like she was telling me her story, herself, and it was such a fun way to experience this book. I would definitely recommend going the audio route if you plan to read this one.

All in all, I really enjoyed this memoir. If you are a fan of The Pioneer Woman blog, a fan of Ree Drummond herself, or just like a good real-life romance, this book is for you.