Where I’ve been this past week

Hi everyone, my apologies for abandoning my blog for the last week or so.  I didn’t plan on this happening but allow me to explain where I’ve been!

As many of you know, my younger brother Alex is in the US Marine Corps.  He is getting deployed (Afghanistan) in a few weeks and before he left I wanted to make sure I got a chance to see him, as I haven’t spent any time with him in over a year.  My mom and I flew to North Carolina where he’s stationed to visit him for this past weekend.  We were supposed to leave Monday morning, however due to the weather issues in Charlotte, they shut down the airport.  Tuesday morning, we got up super early (like, 3 am early) to catch our rescheduled flights home, only to find out that the airport in Charlotte was closed Tuesday too.  Now here it is Wednesday, we have new flights scheduled for this evening, and if all goes according to plan I should be home around midnight tonight!

I had planned on coming home on Monday afternoon, writing up a few posts this week, and therefore being pretty set on the blog for a few days.  As this didn’t happen, the blog will probably be dead again until next week.  I just don’t have any time this week to write, as I need to get back to work pronto as soon as I get back.

It has been a crazy journey these last few days (we literally sat at the airport for 9 hours yesterday… and it was the tiniest airport I’d ever been to… NOT fun), but I’m still overjoyed that I was able to spend this time with my mom and brother before he leaves to go overseas.

So that’s where I’ve been!  Sadly, I haven’t been reading much as I’ve been spending so much time with my fam, but I did finish a book at the airport yesterday and hope to finish one more throughout my travels this evening.  Plus I still have books from 2010 left to review, so I’m thinking there won’t be a shortage of posts I can write, if I can find the time to write them that is!

Anyway, how has your week/weekend been?

18 thoughts on “Where I’ve been this past week

  1. Charlotte does have a pretty small airport for a city of its size. We actually drove through Charlotte yesterday, so I’m rather surprised the airport was closed. What a mess. I wish you safe travels!

  2. I’m glad you got to spend time with your brother and mother too! Isn’t it annoying when the weather refuses to cooperate?!

    My week has been quiet, in a good way. 🙂

  3. As Eva said, I’m glad that you got to spend some quality time with your family. My good friend’s husband just got deployed (again) for the Middle East. It’s rough.

  4. Just curious – if you brother was stationed at Camp Lejeune or Cherry Point – if so I was just around the corner. I’m sure there are other places marines are in NC, but since I have lived around them my whole life I tend to think they are all here 🙂

    Glad you had a nice visit. My BIL just got back from Iraq about 6 months ago. He’s Army and now he’s wondering when he’ll go to Afghanistan.

  5. We might have crossed paths as my connector to see my Marine son was to go through Charlotte!! But we were able to change our flights to Phoenix!! Give your brother my best and tell him that we thank him for his service to his country! Semper Fi!

  6. Hi – have you read Uncle Flynn by Simon Dillon? Its a cracking adventure story for older children and adults, and well worth a look. You can download it from Amazon.co.uk or from Smashwords.

  7. Thank god you got stuck while with your brother and Mom and not while trying to get there. I got caught (40 sleepless hours) in the Atlanta airport trying to get back to Toronto from my sister’s place in Dublin, GA. Finished a couple of books too while waiting to get off the ground!

Leave a Reply

