2011 Non-Goals

I’m only posting this because I need to remind myself to go easy on myself this year.  This year, I really would like to focus on reading whatever books strike my fancy.  I want to knock off quite a few books that have been sitting on my shelves for much too long.  I want to accept the review copies I’m passionately interested in and skip the rest (no matter how nice the author or publicist is!).  I want to go to the library and browse, and take home whatever looks good without feeling guilty that it doesn’t quality for a challenge.

So, with the exception of A Year of Feminist Classics (which isn’t really a challenge, more of a read-a-long), NO challenges in 2011!  If I like the idea of a challenge, I can simply read books that fit into it without committing fully to it – that way, when I inevitably don’t finish, I won’t feel so bad. 🙂

Also, I’m participating in the Faith and Fiction Roundtable this year, which I’m super excited about, and which also (in my book at least) doesn’t count as a “challenge”, it’s definitely in the category of read-a-long.

I do still plan on accepting review copies, but only the ones I’m extremely interested.  I will try my best to ease my guilty feelings at saying no so often to the same publicists…. If I’m not loving the idea of the book, I will not accept it!

I would like to set a goal of being better with keeping up with my reviews.  Reading over 200 books in a year was excellent, and I’m satisfied with keeping up with that pace this year, but I would love to make sure I tell you about all the books I read!  I got way too behind this year, several times, and had to resort to mini-reviews just to get my thoughts out.  I like the idea of mini-reviews, but looking back, several of my favorite books ended up being reviewed that way and I could have said a LOT more about these books!  So I just need to get more on the ball with my reviewing.

So that’s it!  I’m going to try my best to have a happy, carefree reading year in 2011.

What are your plans for reading this year?

15 thoughts on “2011 Non-Goals

  1. Happy reading in 2011! I’m not doing formal challenges either (other than the Year of Feminist Reading!), but I am focusing on challenging myself the reads that are important to me. I’m so looking forward to this year!

  2. Heather…..I feel much as you do about reading goals for 2011. I want to pick a book off my shelf and read it simply, because it sounds good……not because I indicated I’d review it. I only joined 4 challenge (though many more appealed to me) because I knew these fell into my 2011 goals and could be easily accomplished.

    May 2011 be your best reading year yet.

  3. Great goals for 2011! I signed up for a lot of challenge but I never feel bad about not completing them!! 😀 well, except for that pesky Reading Your Own Books of which I only read 3…that one did make me feel bad!

    Have a Happy and healthy New Year!

  4. my resolution for the new year as far as reading goes is to stay committed to my book club. all the best in the new year!

  5. We have enough stress in our lives and reading shouldn’t be adding to it. I like your choice of ‘non-goals’.

    I’m only doing a few challenges which fit into my goals. One is The Women of Science Fiction book club/discussion group. I love scifi but never can find anyone to discuss it with so this should be fun.

  6. I’m trying to be a bit laid-back about reading goals this year as well. It’s best! Read what you love! That’s the only good sort of reading. 🙂

  7. Yay for going easy on yourself! I’m going easy on myself as far as actually blogging about books goes: I’d love to write a 1,000+ word post on each of them, but that’s just not going to happen. I would like to not take as many random blogging breaks this year: let’s hope my life and health cooperate with that. lol

  8. I really like your goals for 2011. Seems that many bloggers are moving towards the path of reading “deliberately.” I don’t have any goals except to really try and pick books that I want to read and will love instead of reading something because I have to or maybe don’t really want to.

    Hope you have a fanstastic 2011!

    1. I’m totally with you on that – I need to read books that I really want to read… life is short and there’s not enough time to read everything, so it’s important to read the very best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

