City of Bones City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
Published by Margaret K. McElderry

Clary Fray is enjoying a night out with her best friend Simon when she witnesses three teenagers murder another teen.  Unfortunately, when help arrives she cannot prove anything because the victim simply disappears.  Very quickly, she learns that she is special because these three teens are Shadowhunters (people who kill demons) and Clary shouldn’t be able to see them as she’s not a Shadowhunter herself.  It doesn’t take long before Clary is caught up in this supernatural world – her mother is kidnapped and she must work with these Shadowhunters, her new friends, to get some answers.

I’d been meaning to read The Mortal Instruments series for quite a while now, and I finally checked City of Bones out from the library earlier this month.  I must admit that I’m of two minds about this one:  I enjoyed the book, but I was left feeling like it didn’t live up to the buzz it’s generated over the past few years.

Allow me to clarify:  I liked the book.  I especially liked the character of Clary – I thought she was a bad-ass heroine, very strong and intelligent and also very teenager-like, which is perfectly okay for a teenager.  A little oblivious, perhaps, especially when it came to Simon’s interest in her, but overall an excellent heroine.  I thought the Shadowhunter world was explained very well, and I could really picture some of the places they went and the adventures they had.  I liked all of those things.

My issue with the book is that I built up my expectations of it too much.  I’d heard so many things about this series – people saying how amazing it is, how it’s their favorite YA supernatural series, etc.  And I just thought it was good, but nothing overly special.

That being said, I will continue on and read City of Ashes, the next in the series, and hope that since I now know the characters and am already invested in their lives, the second book will be slightly more enjoyable.  We will just have to see!