Pyongyang: A Journey in North Korea by Guy Delisle
Published by Drawn & Quarterly

 

In 2001, cartoonist Guy Delisle spent two months in North Korea to work on a children’s television show.  While in North Korea, Delisle had a rare opportunity to see what life is really like in this secluded, dark Communist society.  This graphic novel is Delisle’s account of what he experienced during those two months.

I’m feeling fairly lukewarm about Pyongyang: A Journey in North Korea so this post will be on the shorter side.

I can’t put my finger on it, but something about this book just didn’t click for me.  I was intrigued by the fact that Delisle got into North Korea in the first place, I’m very interested in North Korea, and I love the graphic memoir concept which seems to be more and more popular these days.  And while the book was good, I just wasn’t wowed by it.

Delisle’s story was interesting, the art was well done, and I felt like I really got a feel for what he experienced while he was in North Korea.  So I think a lot of people will enjoy this one.  But for whatever reason, it fell flat for me.

Just don’t let my one little opinion stop you from picking up this book!  As so few people in the world have had the opportunity Delisle was given to get a look inside this country – the book is valuable for that alone.  While it wasn’t the right book for me, I can’t say others shouldn’t try it out.