The Pioneer Woman Cooks by Ree Drummond
Published by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins

If you are not familiar with The Pioneer Woman, otherwise known as Ree Drummond, you are missing out.  She mostly blogs about her family, life on their ranch in Oklahoma, photography, and food.  My favorite posts are always the food and recipe posts, so I was beyond excited to pick up her cookbook.

I loved the cookbook because, just like on her website, each recipe is accompanied by step-by-step photographs of the cooking process.  This makes her recipes almost impossible to mess up, which is perfect for me.  I also loved how within the cookbook are little snippets and stories from her regular life – about her kids, the ranch, the story of how she came to be the Pioneer Woman that she is today, etc.  Although I was familiar with a lot of this stuff from reading her blog, it gave a nice personal touch to the cookbook.

I have to admit that I did have one problem with the cookbook, however:  there simply weren’t enough recipes for my liking!  Since each recipe takes up 2-4 pages, there isn’t a whole lot of room for a ton of recipes.  Although the ones she did include in the cookbook were very representative of the style in which she cooks, I would have liked to see more of them!

From the cookbook itself, I only ended up making one recipe so far:  Bacon-Wrapped Stuffed Jalapenos.  And honestly, they were to die for.  Ree has a version of these posted on her website, but the ones in the cookbook were spiffed up a bit with the additions of cheddar cheese, chives, and barbecue sauce.  My husband doesn’t eat jalapenos (or most veggies, for that matter) so I just bought 5 Jalapenos and ate them as my main course for dinner.  Not too healthy, but absolutely delicious.  I almost made another batch when I was finished eating them, no joke.

I have made several more recipes from her site over the past year, most notably Shrimp Pasta in a Foil Package, which my husband and I both love and has become a staple in my repertoire of dinner options.  I also made the Perfect Potatoes Au Gratin one time, which was also delicious, although not the most friendly option for those counting calories.

My final recommendation would be to browse Ree’s site (thepioneerwoman.com) before purchasing this cookbook to see if her recipes speak to you and your family’s likes.  She does make a huge variety of foods and I think has recipe options for every taste, however, if you don’t like her general style of cooking this cookbook might not be for you.  But if you like what you see, go ahead and get The Pioneer Woman Cooks.  It’s an excellent cookbook for the cowboy or cowgirl in all of us.🙂

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads.  Go ahead and see what else is cooking this weekend!