The Sunday Salon

Good morning, friends.  I have had a very eventful weekend – I had LASIK eye surgery on Friday!  This is hugely exciting for me because pre-surgery, I was one of the blindest people I’d ever met.  Seriously, I’d been in glasses since age four and couldn’t see a thing without my glasses or contacts.  So I am beyond thrilled that I can finally see!  It’s not perfect yet, of course, but it’s getting there and for now I can see well enough to do most activities (including reading), although being on the computer for too long gives me a bit of a headache.  So, YAY! 🙂

Another exciting thing that happened this weekend – the INSPYs shortlists were announced!  I am proud to say that I’m a judge in the Young Adult Fiction category, and I am honored that I get to be a part of this event for its first year.

I also have to announce that the winner of Rooftops of Tehran is CherylS22!  Cheryl, I have emailed you requesting your address and as soon as I receive it I will forward it to the author so he can send out the book.

That’s about it for today – as I said, I can’t do too much computer time with the current eye situation.  How is everyone this Sunday?

33 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon

  1. You know.. I am not sure if I will ever be comfortable enough taking the step of laser eye surgery, but then again, I would love to be able to live without glasses (I can’t get contacts to work). I think it is very brave of you to go ahead with the surgery, I hope you like the final result. It must be quite weird to be able to see everything right away when you wake up 🙂

    1. It is SUPER weird to wake up in the morning and see clearly! It is such a crazy weird feeling but so fantastic too. I definitely recommend the surgery, even if you are scared – it’s such a short procedure!

  2. Congratulations on your surgery. I had to have glasses since I was 10 and had very poor eyesight like you. I thought my prescription was wrong because I wasn’t able to read street signs two years ago. Turned out to be cataracts. After that surgery, (the doctor corrected for astigmatism and nearsightedness. I was shocked, the colors are much brighter and for the first time in a long time, I can walk around with no glasses without bumping into walls. But the doctor also found that now I have glaucoma so now I am taking drops to try to prevent total blindness. So my caution to you is to be sure to keep up with annual eye check ups for glaucoma, cataracts and the general health of your eyes. Vision is so precious.

    Carol Wong

    1. Thanks Carol! I will definitely keep up with yearly checkups, as I know from years of experience how difficult life can be when you can’t see well. I hope the results of this surgery last a looooong time!

    1. I was really scared too, and it’s truly not a very fun process, but it doesn’t hurt a bit and although it’s scary, very worth the anxiety it produces. 5-10 minutes of being scared and as a result, perfect vision! Definitely worth it to me.

  3. My brother-in-law got the Lasik surgery done and absolutely loves it. I know I need to get over my fear and just do it!

    Congratulations on being a judge in the YA category — how cool is that?! Can’t wait to see your posts on that!

    1. I can only encourage you to attempt to overcome your fear. It’s very worth it in the end. And really the surgery is very short, just a few minutes per eye. You can do anything for 5 minutes, right?

  4. Wow! Good for you! I’m so glad the surgery went well. I’m way too chicken to even consider Lasik surgery (eye stuff squiffs me out), and my prescription isn’t that bad anyway (-4 in my right eye, -3.5 in my left). But it’s great that you did that!

    1. My prescription was horrific (-8.5) so for me, it was getting the the point of necessity. I was just so sick of dealing with contacts and glasses for all those years, plus my corneas were so shot from wearing contacts 12-15 hours every day. So it was time. If you can even consider getting over your fear, I would definitely recommend the surgery. It’s like a whole new world has been opened up to me! 😉

  5. Congrats on being able to see! Are you awake for that surgery? Do you see needles and pointy things coming at you? Is your eye clamped open? My eye doctor speaks highly of LASIK surgery, but for now, my old scratched-up spectacles will have to do.

    1. Yes, you are awake, no you don’t really see the things coming at you because (and this is really gross) they basically cut a flap over the top of your eye so it makes you blind for a few minutes, and yes your eye is clamped open but your eye is numb so you really can’t even feel the clamp. It just feels a little pressure-y and strange when they put the clamp on. After that it’s just kinda scary but very, very tolerable.

  6. Oh wow, that’s so exciting! It’d be weird (and great) (not to mention cheaper) to not have to wear glasses/contacts anymore. I’m not a candidate for LASIK, though, since I have very poor, very uncorrectable vision in one eye (it’s a birth defect). So I’ll just be jealous. 😀

    1. I’m sorry that you’re not a candidate, Jill. I actually thought I wouldn’t be either, since I had severe astigmatism in one eye and extremely poor vision in both, but after 2 months of only glasses and 2 different kinds of drops, I was miraculously a candidate! And you never know, perhaps the technology will improve one of these days and then you’ll be able to do it. I’m excited about not having to pay for glasses and contacts anymore!

    1. You never know, Amy. I always thought I’d never be able to do it and suddenly I realized that it was possible for me.

      And you’re welcome! Thanks for having me!

  7. Glad all went well. You are so brave!! I am such a chicken when it comes to any kind of surgery on the eye. Congrats on your judgeship!!!

  8. Glad your LASIK went well! I’m not a candidate for it and I can only imagine what it would be like to see clearly from the moment I wake up in the morning :-).

  9. I had LASIK done two weeks ago and couldn’t be happier with the result. Went from 20/400 to 20/15 and it was amazing. I keep telling my husband that it’s the best $4K he ever spent, lol…not sure if he agrees or not, but too bad ’cause I’m loving it.

Leave a Reply

