Good morning all.  You may have noticed that I’ve been semi-absent from the bloggy world this past week or so.  I was thrilled that I was able to make the time to participate in Book Blogger Appreciation Week, but as soon as it ended, I found myself distracted, big time.  First, last Thursday evening I traveled to Chicagoland for my niece’s third birthday.  I hadn’t missed a birthday of hers yet (including the day she was born, of course) and I was able to find a really affordable flight with free checked bags (go Southwest!) so I couldn’t pass up the opportunity.  I am so happy I went but man did we fit a lot into four days!  My mom and I took her to the Children’s Museum at Navy Pier on Friday while my sister was at work, she had her birthday party on Saturday, we did more family stuff on Sunday and Monday and then Monday evening I flew back to Orlando.  I even managed to see a few of my best friends in between all the family time.  Needless to say, I didn’t get any reading done the entire weekend.  I read on the flights, but nothing else.  Totally worth it, though, to see my niece dress up in her new princess clothes on her birthday:

I know I’m biased, but isn’t she just adorable?🙂

Since I’ve been back, another thing has consumed my time:  TV.  My husband and I are HUGE fans of TV shows, in fact I love TV almost as much as I love books, and fall shows started this past week.  Luckily, we have a DVR so our lives aren’t dictated by which shows we need to watch which evenings, but still – that DVR is filling up pretty fast.  To be honest, I have just felt in more of a TV mood than a reading mood lately, so I’ve been catching up on shows and abandoning my books these past few evenings.  I’m okay with that, honestly, I plan on reading when I feel like it and not feeling guilty about watching shows instead.

This is all to say that I don’t know what my reading and blogging moods are going to be like these next few months.  I hope to get back to my normal swing of things, but if I don’t, that’s okay too.  I’m trying not to put too much pressure on myself and just go with it.  I am reading some really excellent books right now, but if it takes me longer than usual to finish them, so be it.  I want to enjoy reading rather than feeling like I need to do it.

What are y’all up to this Sunday?