Today’s daily blogging topic for Book Blogger Appreciation Week is to talk about a book choice inspired by another blogger, which was an unexpected treasure – a book we loved but didn’t expect to love.

I have to say that, hands down, the most unexpected delightful reading experience I’ve had since blogging has been trying graphic novels for the first time.  Before blogging, I’d never heard of a graphic novel, and when I first heard the term I thought it meant erotica (LOL).  Once I figured out what a graphic novel really was, I didn’t think it would be my cup of tea.  Pictures?  In a novel?  What??

However, inspired by some of my favorite bloggers I decided to give American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang a chance.  I was shocked when I ended up LOVING this book.  Obviously, my love for this one resulted in reading more graphic novels, and while I haven’t loved all of them, some highlights include The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, Maus I and II by Art Spiegelman, and Blankets by Craig Thompson.  Interestingly enough, most of my favorite graphic books have been graphic nonfiction, mostly memoirs.  Perhaps it’s because I like the idea of someone telling their own story in a nontraditional format.  And when great art and a great story combine, it just ends up being a fantastic reading experience.

My reading of graphic novels was most inspired by Nymeth at Things Mean A Lot, who would probably get mad at me right now for even alluding to the idea of graphic novels as a genre.  No worries, Nymeth, I know they’re not a genre!🙂  But they are a fantastic category of books and I’m so glad blogging gave me the opportunity to explore how wonderful they can be.

image