Title:  My Name is Memory
Author:  Ann Brashares
Release date:  June 1, 2010
Publisher:  Riverhead Hardcover
Pages:  336
Genre:  Adult fiction
Source:  Library

High school students Daniel and Lucy are drawn to each other for reasons Lucy can’t figure out, and in their senior year, they have a moment that will stick with Lucy for the next several years.  Daniel, however, knows exactly why they are attracted to each other.  Daniel has the Memory – the ability to remember all of his past lives – and he has loved Lucy for literally thousands of years, and has been pursuing this love for just as long.  This is the story of a love that knows no bounds, a love that spans oceans and continents and literally lasts forever.

My Name is Memory has been compared to The Time Traveler’s Wife, which is one of my favorite books ever, so I was both looking forward to picking it up and apprehensive about it.  I’m happy to say that my fears about it possibly being over-hyped were unfounded, and while I didn’t think it was quite as spectacular as TTW, I did really enjoy it.

I love romantic books that aren’t “just” romances, and My Name is Memory really fits that bill exactly.  It’s a story about the love that Daniel and Lucy have shared for eternity, but it’s also about them as people, and about the adventures they have had over their different lives, and about what brought them together in the first place.  I also love the idea of the kind of love that knows no bounds, this fantasy type love that isn’t very realistic but sure is fun to read about.  Actually, we don’t see a lot of actual love between Daniel and Lucy in this book, because the whole book is devoted to the reader learning about their past lives, but fear not: this is the first in a trilogy.  So there’s lots more love to be had.

Brashares did a fantastic job in this novel of drawing the reader in, of making me care about Daniel and Lucy, and of slowly showing the reader the depths of their relationship, how far they’ve come and gone, in and out of love over the course of many lives.  I felt like the whole book was an adventure and I couldn’t put it down.  I absolutely had to know more about these two, and exactly how their lives had brought them to where they were – two high school students who shared one moment together and knew something strangely wonderful was happening.

If I have one negative thing to say about My Name is Memory, it would have to be that there wasn’t enough of it.  I closed the book feeling incomplete, like I wanted so much more from Lucy and Daniel and I needed to know what would happen to the two of them.  Luckily for me, this is supposed to be a trilogy so there will hopefully be two more books coming out.  If this were a standalone novel, I would be very disappointed with the ending, but since I plan on reading the next one as soon as I can get my hands on it, I’ll remain hopeful that it will be just as good.

My Name is Memory is a pretty wonderful novel that actually lives up to the hype.  Daniel and Lucy felt like real people to me, and I couldn’t put the book down as I read about their story.  I’m definitely waiting impatiently for the next book to come out!