Good morning, friends.  I am not sure what happened to me this past week – I sort of dropped off the face of the blogging earth for a few days there.  I definitely didn’t plan to take a week-long break from posting but I was just busy and before I knew it, it was the weekend and I had barely gave one thought to the blog.  I did get one post in – a review of The Summoning and The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong – but that’s about it.

In bookish news, this week I purchased The Passage by Justin Cronin, a book that everyone seems to be raving about.  This is a big deal for me because I very rarely buy brand-new books (my preferred methods of book acquiring are mooching, buying on sale, or simply using the library), but I received a 25% off coupon to Barnes & Noble from my credit card company, and that’s on top of the standard 30% off that the store was offering.  So I couldn’t resist.  I’m really hoping to start reading it soon, if only to find out what all the fuss is about, but I don’t know how soon is soon.  With my review commitments starting to really pile up, I might need to get through some of those books first.

Also, I recently got my first iPod (I know, I know… my first?  What was I thinking waiting so long?) and I’ve loved the experience of listening to an audiobook while doing just about anything.  I discovered that my library has a pretty good selection of iPod-friendly selections (about 1000 books) so for now I’m just using their site to acquire some.  Perhaps in the future I’ll join audible or something but for now the free ones are working out great!  Right now I’m listening to Short Girls by Bich Minh Nguyen and it’s translating very well to audio.  I also always have a book on CD going in my car at all times (currently it’s What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell), so it’s a perfect set up for me.  One book for driving and another for cooking, cleaning, working out, etc.  I love it!

Today I would really like to get a few reviews written, make time to hit the gym, and READ!  Also I have a Mary Kay party to attend (never been to one before – should be interesting) and need to stop at the grocery store at some point.

What are you up to this Sunday?