Title:  The Everafter
Author:  Amy Huntley
Release date:  September 29, 2009
Publisher:  Balzer + Bray
Pages:  256
Genre:  Young adult fiction
Source:  Library

Madison is dead.  She is in some kind of environment, a big sense of emptiness all around her, with glowing objects everywhere she looks.  Soon she realizes that these glowing objects represent moments in her life, and when she touches the objects, they bring her back to that moment, to the memory she has associated with that object.  After going through several memories, she realizes that she may be able to change the course of moments of her life.  But can she change her death, too?

I had really, really high hopes for this book.  Not sure why, just that it really intrigued me and I expected it to be fantastic.  It was good, but unfortunately I did not love it like I wanted to.

I liked Maddy, I really did.  And I especially liked her relationship with Gabe – the scenes with the two of them were done very well.  Not too much teen angst, over-the-top love, or unrealistic dialogue, just regular, sweet, teen romance.  I applaud Huntley for getting their relationship absolutely right.

The main problem I have with the book is the question of how Madison died.  In the end, we are given an answer to that question, and I truly HATED what was revealed there.  I just didn’t get it.  I don’t feel there was enough evidence throughout the book that what happened to her made sense given the story of her life.  And if you read the book, I hope you’ll understand where I’m coming from with this.  Agree?  Disagree?  Any thoughts on this matter, feel free to share.

In the end, I thought The Everafter was a decent read with an extremely creative idea and a great narrator.  While it didn’t wow me exactly, I did enjoy the experience of reading it and I’m glad I gave it a chance.