Title:  The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference
Author:  Malcolm Gladwell
Release date:  February 2000
Publisher:  Back Bay Books
Pages:  304
Genre:  Nonfiction, pop sociology
Source:  Library

In Malcolm Gladwell’s first foray into pop sociology, he investigates how some ideas, products, and messages become epidemics while the vast majority do not.  He worked through many examples of different social phenomena to determine what makes one epidemic “tip” to mass popularity while another does not.

I’ve read and loved Gladwell’s Blink and Outliers, and I’d simply been putting off reading this one because I was waiting for my library to have it on audio so that Gladwell could read it to me.🙂  (I love his voice, for some weird reason.)

I can’t put my finger on what exactly I like about Gladwell’s books, but whatever it is, The Tipping Point definitely had it too.  I really just find what he has to say so fascinating.  I don’t even care if it’s true, honestly, it’s just fun to think about.  I mean, yes, it’s nonfiction, it certainly should be true, but what I mean is that I’m not concerned so much with sources and facts when I read one of his books.  They are just so entertaining that I find myself so interested and not really worrying about the science or facts behind his analyses.

Anyway, this is kind of a silly review because all I have to say is that I am a Malcolm Gladwell fangirl and I don’t know how else to put it.🙂  If you are a fan of pop sociology/ pop science type of books, definitely give one of his books a try.  Starting with The Tipping Point.