Title:  The Plain Janes
Authors:  Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg
Release date:  May 2, 2007
Publisher:  Minx
Pages:  176
Genre:  Young adult, graphic novel
Source:  Library

I didn’t know much about The Plain Janes when I started it; I just knew that several other bloggers had enjoyed it and I was intrigued.  Based on the cover alone, I was expecting something similar to the movie Mean Girls (a movie I love – perhaps that’s why I wanted to read this book!) but it really wasn’t.  Instead, it was about a high school student named Jane, who becomes friends with three other girls named Jane (or variations of the name Jane, all of which look and sound like Jane), and they decide to go around town turning ugliness into art.  For example, they went to a construction site and planted flowers.  They become sort of infamous around school and around their town, with everyone trying to figure out who this mystery group is who is creating such chaos with their artistic ways.

I’m glad I read The Plain Janes because I definitely liked it.  I liked that it turned the somewhat nerdy girls (who am I kidding – the nerdiEST girls) into the coolest girls in school.  I was sort of a nerd in high school, though I wasn’t a creative type like the girls in the book (just a plain old nerd, really), so I could kind of relate to them.  I LOVED how the main character just kind of walked up to these three other girls and informed them that they would be friends.  Well, it didn’t go quite that smoothly, but that’s basically what happened.  And I enjoyed reading about how their friendship formed around the idea of The Plain Janes.  How these four girls, who were so different from one another, became friends, united towards a common goal.

I am not falling all over myself with love for The Plain Janes, but I definitely enjoyed it.  I can’t think of a bad thing to say about the book, which is a great sign!  Oh, one other thing – I loved the illustrations in the book.

Definitely recommended.