Title:  East of Eden
Author:  John Steinbeck
Release date:  1952
Publisher:  Viking Adult
Pages:  608
Genre:  Classic literature, fiction, family saga
Source:  Personal copy

East of Eden is one of my very favorite books.  (This was a reread for me.)  I can’t even summarize it for you because the book is so much better than its plot.  Really, I normally don’t say things like that but in this case, it’s true.  If I read the summary of this book I don’t think I’d be interested in reading it, but trust me, East of Eden is beyond fabulous.

I don’t normally gush about the writing in a novel, but I will make an exception for this one.  Steinbeck has the most beautiful, descriptive prose in East of Eden that I think I’ve ever seen.  This book will suck you in from the first chapter based on the writing alone.  In addition to the writing, the novel contains some seriously awesome characters.  They are believable, deep, realistic, and they will absolutely win you over.  There are so many layers to many of these characters, you will hardly believe it until you read it yourself.

I am not a person who enjoys reading “the classics”.  I wish I did, but I don’t end up enjoying most of the ones I read. East of Eden, however, is an amazing book and it’s one of those novels I truly believe everyone should read.  I’m thrilled that I gave myself the opportunity to reread this beautiful book and I highly recommend it.