The Sunday Salon

Good morning everyone!  I am up bright and early today, and although I have a lot going on today, I’m happy that it’s Sunday.  My favorite day of the week. 🙂  I’m gearing up for a busy week at work – I’m working every day (which includes Saturday, so no day off until next Sunday) and it’s going to be a little crazy.  Luckily for me, they are required to pay me overtime if I work more than 40 hours, so the paycheck will be a little nicer than usual.  Today is Superbowl Sunday, and we are having my sister-in-law and her boyfriend over.  I am planning to make this taco dip and these cookies and order a pizza.  I don’t much care about football, to be honest, so I plan to do some reading and blogging while everyone else is watching the game.  We may also play a few hands of euchre.  It’s bound to be a fun and relaxing evening!

I have to admit that I’ve been very, very sad this week.  Everyone is talking non-stop about BEA and the Book Blogger Convention.  Unfortunately, for multiple reasons, it is truly impossible for me to go.  One reason has to do with finances – we just spent a LOT of money to move our lives across the country, we don’t have anything extra right now.  And the other reason is work – where I work, we can only have one person off every week of the year, and someone with more seniority than me already has the week of BEA off.  The finances thing I might be able to finagle something with, but the work thing is not possible to get around.  So, it’s not happening.  And I am SO SO SO jealous of all of you who get to go!  After two+ years of blogging, I STILL have not met a blogger in person and I really wish I could take this opportunity to do so.  Who else is not able to go?  Please speak up so we can wallow in self-pity together. 😦

Okay, now that my crying is out of the way, let’s talk a little about books, shall we?  This week I managed to get in five reviews.  I wrote about Commencement, Love in the Present Tense, A River Called Time, Candor, and The Hobbit.  Would you believe that with all that, I am AGAIN five reviews behind?  I tend to kind of forget about blogging during the week and do almost everything on Sunday, which is how I end up in this predicament every weekend.  If I could just get into the habit of writing reviews during the week… oh, well.

I’m currently in the middle of a few different books.  I’m still working on East of Eden, but you’re probably tired of seeing that cover every week, so I’ll just display the other ones. 🙂

How to Achieve a Heaven on Earth edited by John Wade II – this one is a series of short essays by prominent members of society on what we can each do to make this life just a bit more heaven-like.  The essays are about all different kinds of things – recycling, being more accepting of religious differences, encouraging democratic societies around the world, etc.  I am dipping in and out of it because it’s so easy to pick it up, read an essay or two, and then put it down for a day or so.  I’m enjoying it so far.

Home Repair by Liz Rosenberg – I just started this one during my elliptical workout yesterday, and I got about thirty pages in.  I think I’m going to read it just while working out and on my lunch breaks, so like thirty minutes at a time.  It seems good enough so far – an easy, entertaining read – so I think I’ll end up enjoying it.

The Unnamed by Joshua Ferris – Everyone has been raving about this book, so when I saw that my library had it on audio, I couldn’t resist.  I am definitely liking this read, although it’s different from what I was expecting.  I will have to wait to make my final judgement on it until the end – I have heard the ending is amazing.  We’ll see!

Okay, that’s about all I got this Sunday folks.  I’m off to start my day – to the gym for a quick workout, then back home to tackle my endless to-do list before tonight.  Happy Sunday, everybody!  And thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

16 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon

  1. OMG, euchre! I LOVE euchre. No one down here knows how to play. Seems to be a midwestern thing.

    If it makes you feel any better, I’m not going to BEA either. 😦 My hubby’s been ill and we are working off only one income right now. Maybe a mini-convention Florida blogger meet-up? You are the only other Florida blogger I know of for sure, but there’s gotta be more out there…

    Sounds like you have wonderful plans for today. Enjoy!

  2. I’m with you in the self-pity. It’s just too much, especially with the cost of a hotel thrown into the deal. Not to mention the fact that I haven’t been much good as a “book-blogger.” My blog isn’t just about books anymore and unfortunately, I’m in a reading slump right now, which is odd since I started a part-time job at our local library at the end of last year.

    But anyway, enough about me: about you. You will get the opportunity to meet another blogger in person. I am certain in Florida there are other book bloggers like Lexi, and when you do meet them, it will be awesome. I speak from experience, not with book bloggers, but humor bloggers that I know. I only wish I could do it again.

  3. I’ll wallow in self pity with you. I won’t be at BEA either. Between finances and my health it’s just not possible but I sure wish I was going. I have been lucky enough to meet one blogger though and it was great! I hope I meet more some day.

  4. You all will have to have another BEA twitter pity party. 😀

    I didn’t like The Unnamed until about the halfway point. After that the story became pretty powerful…it’s one of those books where like isn’t quite the right word.

  5. I’m totally ready to wallow in self-pity with you about not getting to go to BEA! I’ve got a kid graduating from high school that week which means that both the money and time don’t work for me. We might have to figure out how to organize some fun things for those of us not going to BEA to have fun that week!

  6. I will be missing BEA and Book Blogger Con too, but it’s mostly because I already committed to attending the 2010 BlogHer conference (also in NYC, first weekend in August – any chance you can get that time off?). I’d really hoped to convince more book bloggers to go to that, but since we’ll have our own conference this year, I’m not sure I’ll have much luck.

    But I’m sure you’ll meet some Florida book bloggers before too long!

  7. I’m looking forward to reading about the convention. I don’t blog (on my own) but I sure love reading all the book blogs out there. I have several books on hold at the library right now that I know about from all you bloggers out there. It’s great! We drove 50-plus miles, believe it or not, for a Super Bowl party — college friends, so it’s worth it.

    As for reading for me, I just finished a great thriller with a great serial killer, “They Never Die Quietly,” by D.M. Annechino. Simon is marvelously threatening, cunning (and deranged, it goes without saying!). He’s portrayed so distinctly that you feel kind of like you’re watching a movie of him in your head. He’s being portrayed by Sami Rizzo, a homicide detective, and her squad. Her obsession clouds her thinking …

  8. I will probably be sad with you! I’m unemployed right now. I actually had the money set aside and planned to go, but then my husband got into a car accident and had a change of jobs, which is good in the long run but means we’re really short right now and my savings are going into eating. Flights across the Atlantic are expensive and I am in a ton of school debt that also comes up in May, so I really won’t have enough unless I get a full-time decently paid job between now and then. It’s not fun!

    I hope you have a great week! Your Sunday sounded awesome.

  9. I will also be missing out on the BEA and Book Blogger Convention fun. I’m currently unemployed, so it’s just not going to happen. Maybe next year, for all of us who can’t make it this year.

  10. I’m missing it too…finances also. Plus a new baby, and we are planning to move after our house sells. So lots up in the air. I’m hopeful I’ll be able to go next year…maybe we’ll meet then. 🙂

  11. I wish I could come over for the Book Blogger Convention … but it’s a big trip from Central Australia! I keep reading reviews of The Unnamed . Methinks I’m going to have to read it…

Leave a Reply

