Just wanted to make a quick announcement that I’ll be joining the POC Reading Challenge for 2010.  I was really inspired by Eva’s post on reading in color, and upon further examination of my own statistics, I realized that in 2009 only about 10% of my reading was books written by people of color.  A few other books featured POC, but were written by non-POC, so I didn’t count those.  But I really would like to make more of a commitment to focus on broadening my reading horizons.  And that includes reading from all cultures.  So the POC Reading Challenge should really help this.  I’m going to commit to level 5, which is reading 16-25 books either written by POC authors or featuring POC characters (or both, of course).  I hope to read more than 100 books this year, so ideally I’d like to read more than 25, but I’m not going to promise too high here.🙂  So there you have it.

I also will be joining the African Dispora Challenge.  This challenge focuses on reading books written by authors of African descent.  I have committed to reading only four books, but truly I hope to read many more than that.

I really thought I was done joining challenges for the year, but these two really got me thinking.  I just HAD to join them!🙂