Good morning, Saloners, and welcome to my first Sunday Salon of 2010!  It is a gorgeous day here in Orlando, and I’m really hoping that we’ll be able to enjoy the outdoors in some way today.  Last night some young girls in my neighborhood found a stray kitten that ended up following them around all day, and I told them that if she came back today, I would take her to the humane society or another animal shelter.  Unfortunately, their parents won’t let either of them keep her, and we have three cats already – plus the kitten has fleas, so I don’t want to bring her into my house for even a night and have the fleas pass to my cats.  I felt so bad for these kids – one of the girls was actually crying because she was so sad that they weren’t able to find a home for the kitten.  So right now I’m just waiting around for them to knock on my door with the kitten to take to a shelter.  So hopefully that issue will be solved by early afternoon, and I can peacefully enjoy the rest of my day.🙂

I haven’t been much in the mood to write reviews lately.  I’m not sure why, but it took me a good week to muster up the energy to write my most recent review.  Consequently, this week I only managed to post two reviews:  Spellbinder and Committed.  I have three reviews pending, and one that I’ve written and will go up tomorrow, so look for at least three this week.

Right now I’m currently reading:

The Hobbit and East of Eden are both for read-a-longs, Love in the Present Tense is my current audiobook for driving, The Faith Club is for the Social Justice challenge, and The House on Legare Street is my attempt to get more caught up on my backlog of review books.  I am enjoying all of them so far, but I must admit that I’m finding The Hobbit to be not nearly as good as I remember it being from when I read it the first time.  I suppose the way a twelve-year-old reads a book and the way a twenty-six-year-old reads a book are different things, and I should probably have expected a different reading experience.  But I do confess that I’ve been feeling a bit disappointed in it so far.  Oh well, we’ll just have to see how the rest of the Lord of the Rings books work out for me.

Anyway, I’m off to get a couple of reviews written if I can, and I do hope to get outdoors sometime today too!  Happy Sunday everyone!