When I heard that some of my favorite bloggers were planning on doing a Lord of the Rings read-a-long this year, I decided to join.  I read The Hobbit in middle school, but never the other three books.  I tried a few times to read them, but they just didn’t entertain me and I think I gave up rather easily.  I figured this would be the perfect way to actually complete the series!  Eva is hosting The Hobbit for the month of January, and she provided us with a few discussion questions to start us off.

When did you first hear of The Hobbit? What made you decide to join the read-a-long?
Have you read it before? If so tell us about that experience.
If you’re new to The Hobbit, do you have any preconceptions going into it?
J.R.R. Tolkien pretty much founded the modern fantasy genre. So let’s take a moment to think about the genre as a whole; have you always loved fantasy? Or perhaps you still feel rather skeptical towards the whole idea of wizards and dwarfs and magic? What was your introduction to the genre?
Do you have a certain plan for reading it? A few pages a day, spacing it out over the month? Or are you just going to race through it? Let whimsy decide?

I first heard of The Hobbit in sixth grade, when it was required reading for my literature class.  I dreaded reading it, because although I was a voracious reader at the time, I hadn’t read anything approaching fantasy and I didn’t expect to like it.  I was surprised when I really ended up enjoying it!  But I haven’t read it since – and that was fifteen years ago.  So I decided to join in order to reread a book I remember liking, and to finally experience the rest of The Lord of the Rings.

I haven’t always loved fantasy – and to be honest, I’m not super into it even now.  My next experience with fantasy, after The Hobbit, was reading the Harry Potter series in high school.  I was hooked on Harry immediately upon opening the first book and now that series contains some of my favorite books and by far my favorite books to reread.  I have read more urban fantasy this year, but really only the ones that “everyone” has read, and I still am not 100% confident of my thoughts on the genre.  Usually I enjoy what fantasy I do read, but I don’t typically find that they are my favorite books.

I’m thinking I’ll read a chapter a day until I finish the book.  I haven’t even looked to see how many chapters there are, so hopefully that plan works out.  I started it last night and read the first chapter, and I’m getting excited already!