Tags

Title: Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic
Author:  Alison Bechdel
Release date:  June 7, 2006
Publisher:  Mariner Books
Pages:  232
Genre:  Graphic Memoir
Source:  Library

Fun Home is Alison Bechdel’s autobiography told in graphic novel form.  The book primarily revolves around Bechdel’s father, a closeted gay man who eventually committed suicide when Bechdel was in college.  She also talks a lot about her own experiences of coming out as a lesbian to her parents, and a little about her first real relationship.  She added snippets from her actual journal she kept as a child, to show what was important to her at the time that some of this stuff was going on.  The book can best be described as a summary of the tragedies and comedies that made up her life growing up.

I liked Fun Home. Bechdel did not have the easiest childhood, but the way she tells her story made me laugh many times over.  She was able to take her truth and turn it into something entertaining that really showcased her own personality, and how she developed as a person through her family issues.

One thing that stood out to me about this book was Bechdel’s illustrations.  She was able to capture so many moments with her drawings, and I loved peering into her world through the pictures she provided.

While I enjoyed reading Fun Home, I wouldn’t say it is one of my favorite graphic books.  I was interested in Bechdel’s story, but there was no spark that hit me personally.  It was a good book, and I would recommend it, but I think I was expecting something a little different/better.  I do think Fun Home would be a nice graphic book for someone who hasn’t experienced the genre yet.  It is a family story with a bit of a twist – and Bechdel tells her story with total wit and charm.