YES!!  I am very proud of myself for finishing the Book Awards III Challenge because as of last week, I was resigned to the fact that I wouldn’t be able to complete it.  But then I picked up Bel Canto, just hoping and praying that I would get through it quickly, and it was AWESOME!  I won’t be reviewing Bel Canto until early next year, but I wanted to quickly post this before year’s end so that I am DONE with all challengs posts for 2009.  :)  Here’s my Book Awards III list:

1.  Jesus Land – Julia Scheeres (Alex Award) review

2.  Jellicoe Road – Melina Marchetta (Printz Award) review

3.  Blankets – Craig Thompson (Eisner Award) review

4.  Dear Mr. Henshaw – Beverly Cleary (Newberry) review

5.  Bel Canto – Ann Patchett (Orange Prize)

I’m thinking that next year I won’t participate in the Book Awards challenge, but rather read more deliberately and try to complete an entire list of award winners.  I’m thinking I’ll start with the Orange Prize, since I have read quite a few of the short-listed books and winners, and I tend to enjoy them.  I’m not ready to make a decision on that yet, though, so we’ll see.