Unfortunately it’s come to my attention that I’m not going to be able to finish the World Citizen Challenge this year.  I had committed to the highest level of the challenge, which is reading seven books, including one from each category.  Well, I actually read only six books, and I never did complete a selection for the history category.  :(  If I would have chosen to do any of the other levels I would have finished, but since I didn’t actually do what I told myself I would do, I feel sad.  Oh well.  I’m more than understanding of the fact that there is no possible way I will read a history book in the next week.  So, here’s what I did read:

Politics:

  • We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will be Killed With Our Families: Stories from Rwanda by Philip Gourevitch review

History:

Economics:

  • The End of Poverty: Economic Possibilities for Our Time by Jeffrey Sachs review

Culture/Anthropology/Sociology:

  • The Good Women of China by Xinran review

Worldwide Issues:

  • The Natashas: Inside the New Global Sex Trade by Victor Malarek review

Memoirs/Autobiographies:

  • Slave by Mende Nazar and Damien Lewis review
  • Shattered Dreams: My Life as a Polygamist’s Wife by Irene Spencer review

I made a pretty good attempt on this one, but it was just not to be.  If Eva hosts it again this year, hopefully I can be either smarter in my commitment or better at tackling my goal.🙂