Tags

Title:  A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge
Author:  Josh Neufeld
Release date:  August 17, 2009
Publisher:  Pantheon
Pages:  208
Genre:  Graphic novel, nonfiction, history
Source:  Library

This was a random find at the library, and I’m so happy that it jumped out at me because I hadn’t heard of this book at all before, and it was seriously awesome.  I don’t know why more people aren’t reading it, because you all should be.  Why don’t I explain what it’s about?

A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge is the story of Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans, told in graphic novel format.  Except that it’s really not a novel, as it is the story as it pertains to five individuals, real people who survived the storm.  These are five people who Neufeld met in person while doing research on the hurricane and its aftermath, and he decided that he needed to tell all of their stories.  So, using both words and illustrations, he did.

This is a beautiful book.  The artwork is wonderful, and I particularly love Neufeld’s use of color throughout the book.  He kind of used different colors to show different situations and to create different moods.  For me, it really worked.  Here are a few examples of the artwork in the book:

2008-03-14-adpanelfinal.jpg

I don’t want to show too much, because I highly encourage everyone to read this one.  But you get the idea.

I also found the individuals in the book to be compelling and relatable.  Each one of them experienced the hurricane in a different way, unique to their particular situations in life, and it was so interesting to see how it affected them all in such drastically different ways – but there was one thing in common:  it hugely impacted their lives.  It destroyed all of their homes, some of their businesses, all of their prized possessions and many of their memories.  Although there were so many differences among these people, reading their stories really served to remind me that so much of what makes us human makes us all very much alike.  The sheer humanity of this book is what really got to me.

I can’t recommend this one enough.  If you like graphic novels, A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge just begs to be picked up.  This one’s a winner.