Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Title: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Author:  J.K. Rowling
Published date:  July 2007
Publisher:  Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages:  784
Genre:  Children’s/YA Fantasy
Source:  Personal copy

 

Several months ago I made the decision to reread the entire Harry Potter series even though I’d already read most of the books at least three times.  I was having a bad day, I think, and I just felt like Harry, Hermione, and Ron would be able to cheer me up – and who can read one book in this series without reading them all at some point?  I know I certainly can’t.  So here we are, upon my completion of book 7, and this really isn’t a review, more like my thoughts on the final book in the series.  Stay away if for some reason you haven’t read the series, because I will definitely have minor spoilers.

I was most excited to reread Deathly Hallows because I’d only read it once before this time around, and the first time I read it I was reading so frantically towards the end that I was sure I missed some crucial aspects of the plot.  I was also a little hesitant to read it because finishing the series this time around means I won’t pick it up again for a long time.  So it was a bittersweet read for me, definitely.

But – I loved the book so much.  I loved it the first time, but this time I was able to read slowly, to savor every word and every interaction in the book.  I was able to concentrate on all that was revealed to me within the pages, and really think about how everything was finally coming together and starting to make complete sense.

I have to admit that I was SO THRILLED when Harry finally got to see what the real deal is with Snape, through the Pensieve.  I only vaguely remembered this scene from my first reading of Deathly Hallows and when I was reading it, my jaw literally dropped.  I was like… beyond shocked.  I mean, I was hoping all along that things would turn out this way, but really – I couldn’t believe it.  And it made me squeal, I was so happy.

There was lots of action Deathly Hallows, which I loved, but there were also some truly sweet moments (especially between Ron and Hermione) that almost brought me to tears.  It was definitely bittersweet, because it felt to me, like just when these teenagers are finally finding themselves and becoming confident and understanding their world we don’t get to read about them anymore.  It was just hard to read this book knowing that once it’s over, it’s OVER.  And these characters who I’ve fallen in love with are no more.  But the epilogue definitely helped with that.  It helped me to have closure on the whole situation, and just knowing where their lives took them really helped me to finalize the series.

That’s it.  I love these books.  This is by far my favorite series I’ve ever read, and I will continue to reread them in years to come.

Are you a Harry Potter fan?  What did you think of Deathly Hallows?

16 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

  1. I’ve only read Deathly Hollows once, the weekend after it came out, and it was at a quick pace like you. I liked it a lot though it wouldn’t be my favorite of the series (I’m fond of #5). But one of the things I really appreciated about Deathly Hollows was how it finally came down to Harry, Hermione and Ron basically in exile. I really felt how desperate the situation was then. I also liked the dragon escape, one of my favorite action moments. I wish the wand ownership rules had been set-up earlier in the series so it wouldn’t have been such a ‘huh?’ moment for me. Most of all, I wish the epilogue had said more about the characters’ jobs. Overall though I’m a fan of the series.

    1. #5 is also my favorite of the series. 🙂 And I so agree about the dragon escape, although I couldn’t help but feel so bad for the poor dragon (I hate when animals are mistreated in books), so I was relieved when they did get out. And I too thought that I’d like to hear more about the characters’ jobs… hearing that Neville was a professor was kind of like a tease for what the rest of them do.

      Thanks for stopping by today!

  2. I finished re-reading these just this month! I always get so excited when people re-read harry potter because every time that I’ve re-read it, I’ve found something new about it to love and appreciate.

  3. I’m a big Harry fan (Book 7 and Book 5 are my favourites), they’re definitely a comfort read for me. I have a few of them on audio on my ipod as well – quite often I chuck book 7 on when I’m having trouble sleeping!

    I love the way the series ended, and I especially love how the whole Snape story ended – he was always my favourite character (and so complex!) and I knew he’d wind up being a good guy in the end.

    1. The one thing I’ve never done with HP is listen to the books on audio – I really should, one of these days.

      I loved the way the Snape story ended. He was definitely not my favorite character, although I loved trying to figure him out with every book, and I was just so relieved to see his true personality come out in the end.

      1. There are two audio versions, the Jim Dale ones and the Stephen Fry ones. Both are excellent, but I have a slight preference for the Jim Dale ones, I think it’s just because they’re the ones I’m more used to.

    1. Definitely! It’s hard finding the time to reread books when there are so many great ones coming out every month, but this series is one where the reread is so worth it. There’s just so much meat in these books that reading them again just helps uncover even more gems to the stories. 🙂

  4. I was always confused about Snape- but hoping he’d turn out to be a good guy. And I’ve only read this one once, and so long ago, that now I can’t remember exactly what the big reveal was. So it’s time to go read it again!

Leave a Reply

