Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Title:  Wicked Lovely
Author:  Melissa Marr
Release Date:  June 12, 2007
Publisher:  HarperCollins
Pages:  352
Genre:  Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy
Source:  library


I decided to read Wicked Lovely because I feel as though I’m the last person on earth to have read this series, and I felt like it was time I tried it out.  In case you’re like me and haven’t read the book yet, here’s a brief summary:  Aislinn is just a regular teenager, living a regular life, except for the fact that she can see faeries most people cannot.  And despite the fact that she’s spent her entire life avoiding them, ensuring that they don’t know she can see them, and being utterly terrified of their presence in her life, suddenly a few of the faeries are stalking her.  One in particular, Keenan, seems to be particularly drawn to Aislinn, and as she learns more about him, it seems that he wants her for himself, to be his Summer Queen, at any cost.

I had, unfortunately, very high expectations for Wicked Lovely.  I was expecting a truly amazing book.  My first reaction when I was reading this novel was something along the lines of, “that’s it?”  Don’t get me wrong, I liked the book and I’m glad I read it.  But I think it was just a tad too hyped up for what it actually delivered.  Let me see if I can explain this better… I was expecting some amazing journey, something magical and emotional and completely different from anything I’ve read before.  I don’t quite know why I thought it was going to be all those things, but that’s the impression I guess I had from all the reviews I had read of this one.  The story was interesting, the characters were pretty well-drawn, and I found myself getting involved with the story, but it definitely didn’t sweep me away like I thought it would.

The moral of the story, for me, is not to have expectations for books.  Sometimes it’s hard, though, and in my case I almost always have a preconceived notion of what a book will be.  But I definitely need to work on this, because Wicked Lovely is a lesson to me that just because a book isn’t everything you thought it would be, it can still be an enjoyable experience.  Because that’s what this read was for me:  an enjoyable experience.  And by the end of the novel, I cared about Aislinn enough that I’ll most likely read the rest of the series.

The bottom line is that I liked this one, I didn’t love it, and I’m glad I read it to see what all the fuss is about.

For more reviews of Wicked Lovely (most of which are better than this one), please visit the Book Blogger Search Engine.


12 thoughts on “Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

  1. lol! I totally get the high expectations thing. 🙂 I read this for the first time before there were many book bloggers talking about it, and that’s probably part of why I loved it! But really, I just connected so much with the characters & the themes and plots, it felt like it was tailor made for me! And that’s why I hesitate to recommend my faves to other people. 😉

    1. I think I might have liked it more if I read it before all the hype. But then again, I’m not hugely into fantasy (although I am trying more) so I would never have looked at this one if I hadn’t heard about it from so many bloggers. Like I said, I’ll still continue with the series but I just didn’t love it. To each his/her own. 🙂

  2. Oh, Wicked Lovely was enjoyable, yes, but it didn’t do everything it could. There’s some very interesting concepts- the Summer Queen, and especially the Bone Girls, if I’m recalling correctly- but they aren’t fleshed out enough.

  3. You are not the last to read this book, I have not yet and have had high expectations due to all the rave reviews. Glad I read your review before I read the book.

  4. I know how you feel – I’m kind of putting of The Hunger Games for the same reason – I want some of the hype to die down so I’m not expecting too much. By the way, I haven’t read this series either.

  5. I enjoyed this book as well and am looking forward to continuing on with the series at some point. The hype over a lot of books lately has made me step back a bit for the exact reasons that you mentioned. The books still go on to my tbr list but I don’t rush to read them or anything 🙂

  6. The hype is sometimes too much. I like to get the books, but they often sit on my shelves for awhile until all of the raves are not fresh in my mind.

Leave a Reply

