Weekly Geeks: Recommendations

Today’s Weekly Geek’s is a fun one.  Here’s the topic:

I wanted to talk this week about book recommendations. Where do you go for book recommendations? How often do you challenge yourself to get out of your comfort zone? How often do you read outside your favorite-and-best genre? How often do you try a new-to-you author? How often do you take a chance? This week, I’d like to offer you a few opportunities.

So your assignment this week, if you choose to play along, is to ask your readers for recommendations. Choose a genre–any genre–and ask for recommendations. You can be as general or as specific as you like. Consider it as an “I’m looking for….”

The second part of the assignment is to write a list of recommendations and share them with your readers. Choose a genre–any genre–and share your list of favorites. I think of this as “If you’re looking for….”

Okay.  I actually think I’m going to do the second part first.  There are many different genres of books I enjoy.  But I have found, over the years, that my favorite, FAVORITE books are those that pack a huge emotional punch.  The books that I can’t stop thinking about when I’m reading them, and that I’ll think about for days, weeks, months, sometimes even years after I finish them.  So I’ve compiled a short list of books you should read if you’re looking for a book you won’t soon forget.  Here they are:

And now, what kind of recommendations am I looking for?  I think that what I’m most interested in are your favorite obscure books.  What books do you love that I’ve never heard of?  Or, perhaps I’ve heard of them but they aren’t super-popular and don’t usually come up on best-of type lists.  What book should I read if I’m looking for an awesome book that I haven’t seen before?

31 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks: Recommendations

  1. Fun list!

    To answer your question, I looked back over my books read this year…
    A Year in Japan by Kate Williamson was a very cool, innovative travelogue.
    Notes from the Hyena’s Belly, From the Land of Green Ghosts, and I’m Looking Through You are now tied as the best ‘literary’ memoirs I’ve ever read.
    Fledgling was an AMAZING novel.
    Anything by Oliver Sacks is marvelous. 🙂
    Mr. Sebastian and the Negro Magician and The Watermelon King, both by Daniel Wallace, contain some of the best storytelling I’ve ever read.

    That’s probably enough for now! 😉

    1. Those are all really great suggestions! I will definitely take note. And I’ve seen you rave about Oliver Sacks before but never read anything, so I’ll have to remember this stuff! Thanks, Eva.

  2. Well crap. I read your last post first, and now my mind is totally stuck on We Wish to Inform You… But I would recommend it. Definitely one that will stick with you. But of course, it’s a very, very, very tough read subject wise. 😦

    I can’t believe I haven’t read a single book on your list. *sighing at my own pathetic-ness* Do have a few on the shelves though…so maybe there’s hope for me yet. 😉

    1. Lol, Debi, it’s funny you should mention that one because I read it earlier this year. And like you said, very tough read but absolutely sticks with you. I’m sorry you haven’t read any of what I mentioned, but in my opinion they are all amazing reads so you should read them soon! 😉

  3. I loved the Wally Lamb book. I am going to read more by him. Somehow I couldn’t get into The Namesake. Although I did watch the movie and liked it.

    I will look out for The Sparrow.

    Have you tried reading Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte? She is the lesser known Bronte sisters and her writing style is much more realistic than her sisters’. I love her poetry.

    One can’t get more obscure than that!

    Weekly Geeks: Recommendations

    1. Nope, never tried Agnes Grey. But I may want to pick it up, even though I’m not super into the classics. I still like to give them a try from time to time. Thanks!

  4. I honestly don’t stick to one particular genre. Like you, I’m always interested in the book that is going to make me think about something that I would rather ignore, find myself sobbing at the end of the book, or running around telling everyone that they have to read THIS BOOK. That’s what draws me to certain books.

    Poisonwood and Fine Balance are books that I read a LONG time ago and still resonate with me to this day!

  5. I need books that pack an emotional punch as well and you’ve got some great ones on your list. Laharo os a great author IMO and I’ve read all of her books. You can count on her books evoking some emotion. Also, Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, and well, I could go on and on ,,,LOL

  6. Oh, gosh, I never see The Sparrow on people’s lists – I love The Sparrow. As for recommendations … The Source, by James Michener. So, so good!

  7. I love books which pack an emotional punch too and your list contains many of my favourites. I have the rest on my TBR pile and am going to have to try to get round to them soon. Have you tried Jose Saramago? Blindness is amazing!

  8. It seems our tastes overlap in strange places. 🙂 I loved Poisonwood Bible but found Snow Falling on Cedars pretty boring. 🙂 I’ve read She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb (which I liked) and Everything’s Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer (which I didn’t like, but I hear EL&IC is much better), so I’ll be sure to check out your recommendations. Thanks!

    Now, I don’t know what books you’ve never heard of, but here are some I’ve enjoyed by lesser known authors: The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers, Moominsummer Madness by Tove Jansson, Geek Love by Katherine Dunn, The Myth of You and Me by Leah Stewart, The Eight by Katherine Neville, Santiago by Mike Resnick, and A Little Twist of Texas by Linda Raven Moore.

    –melydia
    fellow Weekly Geek

  9. I definitely agree on The Poisonwood Bible and The Sparrow. Excellent, excellent books.

    If you like dystopian lit, I can recommend We by Yevgeny Zamyatin. It was written before 1984 and A Brave New World, and some say was the model for them.

  10. These were favorites of mine from childhood: “Freckles” and “A Girl of the Limberlost” by Gene Stratton Porter. I was a total nature girl when I was younger, so I loved these stories of the Indiana forests.

  11. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head-I don’t care what kind of book it is as long as it has some sort of emotional draw for me. That said, I loved Modoc: The True Story of the Greatest Elephant that Ever Lived by Ralph Helfer. I think it’s worth reading for the cover alone! It’s certainly not obscure, but Life of Pi sent me into the ugly cry. i know this one’s hit or miss for people, but for me it was a definite hit.

    Time’s Arrow by Martin Amis is a weird little book, but there was one section that tore me up, and I still think about it 4 years later. If you’ve ever read Slaughterhouse-Five, It’s similar to the scene where the bombing of Dresden is seen in reverse, except the whole book is like that.

    The Gift of Fear by Gavin De Becker is not so much an emotional read but one that makes sense and stays in your brain for years after reading.

Leave a Reply

