Tags

The Hunger Games
Suzanne Collins
September 14, 2008
Scholastic Press
384 pages
Young Adult Fiction, Suspense

I’m not sure that there’s anyone left in the blogosphere who hasn’t read The Hunger Games yet.  In fact, I am 99% sure that I’m the LAST blogger to have read this book.  Why did I read it?  Well, because of all of you, of course!  I haven’t heard ONE bad thing about this novel.  Not a one. So I finally decided that it was time to for me to see what all the hype is about.

And let me tell you, this book is one example of when hype is well-deserved.  I’m not going to bother with a summary because even I knew way too many details about this book before I started reading it, so I’d rather spare the last soul on earth to read The Hunger Games a plot summary with the assumption that you probably already have an idea of what this one is about.

I closed the book and thought, “wow”.  I really did.  I started The Hunger Games one afternoon, read all through the day until dinnertime, and went right back to reading it before bed until I finished it.  I could NOT not know what would happen.  It was simply impossible for me to fall asleep that night without finishing the book.  It was just that suspenseful, just that entertaining.  Like I said, the hype was well deserved.

Let me also tell you that I didn’t like this book just for the suspense and the story.  While the story was pretty awesome and I caught myself holding my breath during parts of the action, I was captivated by Katniss.  Everything about her (besides her name – ugh) was awesome.  I do have a soft spot in my heart for strong female characters in books, especially main characters, because let’s face it, there’s simply not enough fantastic female characters in books.  But Katniss was everything I want every teen girl in every book to be – she was intelligent, independent but still attached to her family, strong physically and emotionally, yet with moments of weakness that make her very realistic.  I really, really loved her and had no problem rooting for her throughout the book – I needed her to succeed.  That’s how much I felt for her; I knew she had no choice but to win.

All I have to say about this one is, you guys were all right.  Every one of you who gushed about The Hunger Games – I get it now.  This book is fantabulous.  And I’m hoping that my library will get Catching Fire to me sometime in the near future so I don’t have to wait too long to find out what else will happen with Katniss.

Like I said, a ton of bloggers have reviewed this one, so I’ll just give you a small sample of the other reviews out there: