Today’s topic for Book Blogger Appreciation Week is this reading meme.  The goal is to be creative with it, but I’m not overly creative so I’ll just answer the questions.🙂

Do you snack while you read?  If so, favorite reading snacks? I don’t necessarily snack while I read, unless I’m actually hungry.  However, I do usually have something to drink while I’m reading.  In the morning, coffee.  At lunch, water or pop of some kind.  In the afternoons, tea or pop.  And in the evenings, right before bed, I often have a glass of wine while I read.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you? Well, it doesn’t horrify me.  But I really don’t write in books either.  When I was in college I was a huge fan of a highlighter for books I had to write about later.  But now that I mostly read for entertainment I don’t write anything in my books.  I can remember all the important stuff.🙂

How do you keep your place while reading a book?  Bookmark?  Dog-ears?  Leaving the book flat open? Bookmark, definitely.  Although I’m not picky – I’ll use anything.  Library receipts, grocery lists, post-its, whatever.  I don’t HATE dog-earing because many of my books are used, but I just don’t really do it ever.  But I DO detest when people leave books flat open.  I hate those creases in the middle of the spine.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both? Both!  I love fiction, but I also like to learn stuff sometimes too.🙂

Hard copy or audiobooks? Generally, hard copy.  I went through a phase where I was reading a ton of audiobooks because my commute was pretty long.  But now that I work literally 2 miles from my house, I don’t listen to audiobooks anymore.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put the book down at any point? I LIKE to stop at chapter breaks, but I’m able to stop anywhere if I have to.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away? I’m embarrassed to admit this, but I’ve never used a dictionary while reading (for enjoyment – when I was reading in college I did sometimes).  I typically will just figure it out for the context, or even just breeze past words I don’t know.  Perhaps this is why my verbal GRE score was so bad… my vocabulary kind of sucks.  Maybe I should work on this…

What are you currently reading? Three books.  I’m just about done with The End of Poverty by Jeffrey Sachs (about 30 pages left), and I’m also reading Blindness by Jose Saramago and A Disobedient Girl by Ru Freeman.  But I just (FINALLY) borrowed The Hunger Games from my library, so I’ll probably start that one tonight.

What is the last book you bought? I’ve been trying not to buy a lot of books lately.  But I did recently join another monthly book club thingy where they give you a bunch of books upfront as long as you purchase three or more over two years.  Some of the books I got in my intro pack include The Help, American Wife, Shelter Me, and The Story Sisters.  They all sound so good!

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time? I can read a lot of books at once, but then it takes me a really long time to finish any.  So I try to only read 2-4 at one time, that way they all get finished eventually!

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read? Well my favorite time of day to read is in the middle of the afternoon, on my comfy spot on the couch, with all the windows and patio door open.  But since I work a full-time job, that rarely happens.  Instead, I typically read at night for a few hours before bed.  Which works just fine as a substitute.🙂  But if I was given a granted wish, I’d always prefer to read outside in nice weather – however, I live in Chicago so nice weather doesn’t happen all that often!

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books? Both are great.  Series books just require more of a committment.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over? Let’s see.  The Time Traveler’s Wife, of course.  I also recommend Jodi Picoult books for non-readers, as her books are very fast-paced and they hook you right away.  I also find myself talking about The Sparrow a lot, it is one of my absolute favorite books ever.

How do you organize your books? I don’t even ATTEMPT to organize my TBRs.  The books I own and have read used to be organized.  I had my nonfictions in one place, grouped by subject (roughly).  And then I had all my fiction books organized by author’s last name.  But now my bookcase of read books is so overflowing that there’s no hope of organization.  I need to either get another bookcase or get rid of some books.🙂