Tags

Love You Hate You Miss You
Elizabeth Scott
May 26, 2009
HarperTeen
288 pages
Young Adult Fiction

It’s been seventy-five days. Amy’s sick of her parents suddenly taking an interest in her.

And she’s really sick of people asking her about Julia. Julia’s gone now, and she doesn’t want to talk about it. They wouldn’t get it, anyway. They wouldn’t understand what it feels like to have your best friend ripped away from you.

They wouldn’t understand what it feels like to know it’s your fault.

Amy’s shrink thinks it would help to start a diary. Instead, Amy starts writing letters to Julia.

But as she writes letter after letter, she begins to realize that the past wasn’t as perfect as she thought it was—and the present deserves a chance too.

These are my least favorite kinds of reviews to write because I honestly have nothing particularly exciting or intelligent to say about this book.  Love You Hate You Miss You was good.  It was believable.  I was sympathetic towards Amy and continuously hoped for her to feel like she deserved to have her own life in the aftermath of Julia’s death. Elizabeth Scott wrote the novel very well, in a way that teens will really understand and relate to.

But that’s about all I got.  The book was good, it wasn’t great.  I liked it, I did not love it.  I will probably not remember much about this novel a few months from now.  I think my issue with this one is that I assumed that it would be a very emotional read – it sure sounds like it would be, right?  But I personally just didn’t connect with the story like I wanted to.  I empathized with Amy and I rooted for her, definitely, but I just didn’t FEEL it.  So that leads me to conclude that it’s something to do with me specifically, a connection that I personally missed with the novel.  Which leads me to believe that you, dear reader, may have a totally different experience with this book.

So my conclusion is that Love You Hate You Miss You is a good book by an excellent author that I personally did not connect with in the way in which I was expecting to.  So I’m recommending the book to YA fans with the caveat that I still need to figure out what about the book did not work for me….

More reviews –