It’s hard to believe we’re approaching the last quarter of 2009. Soon those of us in the northern hemisphere will be curled up in front of the fire (or solar heater) with our favorite wintry reads, and those in the southern will be off to the beaches with their summer books.

Do you have a plan of what you’re going to read the rest of the year? Have you had a master plan all along? If so, have you stuck to it? What helps you to decide what you’re going to read next? Challenges? Book groups? Or do you have the luxury of closing your eyes and picking any book off your shelf?

I know some of you have spreadsheets and other devices to help you keep track of your books and challenges. (I even succumbed to using a spreadsheet this year after teasing my friends relentlessly about theirs.) If you have online spreadsheets, such as Google, can you give us a peek at them with a link or a screen shot?

Well, I have to say that I don’t have an exact plan, per se.  But I DO have plenty of commitments to get to before the end of the year.  Let’s start with challenges.  I do keep a challenge blog so that I have an easier time keeping track of my challenge progress, which can be found here.  According to said blog, I have eleven books that I need to read to complete my challenges for 2009 – two for the A-Z challenge, three for the Book Awards III challenge, three for the Orbis Terrarum challenge, and three for the World Citizen challenge.  Plus I just signed up for the RIP IV challenge, which I haven’t even added to that blog, with a requirement of two books.  So that should be doable.

Then we have my review commitments.  I currently have a stack of ten books I’ve promised a review for, and another seven which arrived unsolicited but that I do plan on reading soon.  I’m pretty sure I can get to the ten, but the seven unsolicited I have my doubts about.

Plus there’s the fact that I have several library books on hold right now, which I hope arrive shortly, and which I’ll read immediately upon receiving them.  And I have plenty of books in my own TBR shelves that I’d like to get to.

I have to admit that I’m feeling a little overwhelmed.  I am excited for all these books, but will I get to them by December 31st?  I just don’t know.  I do tend to read more in the winter than in the summer, so it’s definitely possible.  I may have to rethink my review copy acceptance rate next year if I have any intention of getting some of my TBR books read in this decade (which I do).

How about you?  Do you have a plan for your reading for the rest of the year?  Check out what some of the other Weekly Geeks have to say on this topic or add your own at the Weekly Geeks blog.