Good morning Saloners!  I am awake surprisingly early for a Sunday – about 8 am – even though it is a cloudy, dreary day here in Chicago.  I am in a very good mood this morning because I woke up and remembered that I have a two-day weekend!  See, I work every Saturday, so normally I just have Sundays off with no real “weekend” to speak of.  But because of the holiday tomorrow, I get a regular weekend and I couldn’t be happier about it.  Of course, I have stuff going on today and tomorrow – family gatherings, etc. (my brother is on a two-week leave from the Marines so he inspired one get together), so I won’t have a lot of reading time.  But I DO get to stay up late tonight and read if I want!🙂

So.  This week I reviewed two books, Jellicoe Road and Cleopatra’s Daughter – one I loved, the other I was “eh” about.  My Cleopatra’s Daughter review includes a giveaway courtesy of the author herself, so make sure you stop by and enter if you haven’t already.  I also posted another giveaway for a few ARCs I am not going to be able to get to anytime soon, so take a look at that one too if you like free books.🙂  And last, I responded to a Weekly Geeks topic about reviewing, ratings, and other blogger responsibilities.

Speaking of ratings, I really do think that I’d like to start giving out some sort of “Book Addict’s Best Of” award to books that are my absolute favorites.  Only problem is that I can’t design a button to save my life, and I don’t know what to call the award.  Anyone willing to design a button for me and/or help me come up with a title for said favorites award?  Email me at book.addict29@gmail.com and let me know.  I’d LOVE the help.

I’m currently reading three books.  The first is The End of Poverty by Jeffrey Sachs.  This book is taking me a little longer to get through than I had anticipated, but I’m enjoying it so far.  I am hoping to finish it this week and be able to review it late this week.  The second book I’m currently reading is Halfway to Each Other by Susan  Pohlman, a memoir about a family who decided randomly to spend a year in Italy right as they were on the brink of divorce, and it sounds like this trip saved their marriage.  I’m about 100 pages in and the book is wonderful so far.  I just realized that this one isn’t even due for release until October, so maybe I’ll hold off on reviewing this one until the release date.  We’ll see.  And the last book I’m reading is Love You, Hate You, Miss You by Elizabeth Scott.  I just started this one last night so I don’t know much about it yet, but it seems like I will really like it.  I’ve enjoyed the books I have read by Scott, so I can only hope that I will love this one too!

Well, I’m off to shower and get ready for this day of family togetherness.  I hope you all have great weekends and happy Sunday Salon!