Tags

Title:  Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Author:  J.K. Rowling

Published:  July 16, 2005

Page Count:  672

Genres:  Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult/Children’s

My Rating:  5 out of 5

I believe this was my third time reading HBP.  I read it when it first came out, then again right before Deathly Hallows came out.  I remember being enraptured by HBP the first time I read it, and I still found it pretty darn great this time around.  It’s not my favorite in the series, but it definitely comes close.

What I love about the last few books in the series is the sheer amount of information the reader is given.  I feel like, having now read the entire series (not this time around, but previously), that in the first three books the reader is living in total darkness in relation to Harry Potter’s world.  We think we understand what’s going on, we think we know what they are all up against, we think we get who the bad guys are and what they have done, but really we have no idea.  It isn’t until books four and five that the reader begins to have a clear picture of what Harry is really dealing with.  And it is in this, the sixth book in the series, that we are given a ton of information about Voldemort which we (and Harry) previously had no clue we were even missing out on.  I loved the scenes with Dumbledore and the pensieve – learning about Voldemort’s past, learning about what motivated him, what drove him to be such a ruthless and evil wizard, was so interesting to me.  I loved these sections of HBP the most, I think.

And I also fell MORE in love with these characters throughout this book.  Like I said in my review of Order of the Phoenix, I really don’t mind all the teenager-ness shown by Harry, Ron, Hermione, and their friends in these books.  I like how despite being some of the most intelligent and poweful wizards they know, they are still normal teens with confusing emotions and hormones.  It makes the whole thing seem much more real to me, so much more believable.  And I think this stuff just adds to the characters’ personalities and just helps the reader get to know them all better.

So I’m looking forward to rereading Deathly Hallows, but I’m sort of sad about it, too, because then once again Harry Potter is over and I won’t read these books again for many months, possibly years.  I love this series and it truly gives me such comfort and joy when I get a chance to revisit it!  And I haven’t yet seen the HBP movie – I’ll let you all know what I think when I do see it.

More reviews –