Tags

Title:  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Author:  J.K. Rowling

Published:  January 1, 2003

Page Count:  870

Genres:  Fiction, Children’s Books/YA, Fantasy

My Rating:  5 out of 5

I say to you all, once again–in the light of
Lord Voldemort’s return, we are only as strong
as we are united, as weak as we are divided.
Lord Voldemort’s gift for spreading discord and
enmity is very great. We can fight it only by showing
an equally strong bond of friendship and trust.

So spoke Albus Dumbledore at the end of Harry Potter’s fourth year at Hogwarts. But as Harry enters his fifth year at wizard school, it seems those bonds have never been more sorely tested. Lord Voldemort’s rise has opened a rift in the wizarding world between those who believe the truth about his return, and those who prefer to believe it’s all madness and lies–just more trouble from Harry Potter.

Add to this a host of other worries for Harry…
• A Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher with a personality like poisoned honey
• A venomous, disgruntled house-elf
• Ron as keeper of the Gryffindor Quidditch team
• And of course, what every student dreads: end-of-term Ordinary Wizarding Level exams

…and you’d know what Harry faces during the day. But at night it’s even worse, because then he dreams of a single door in a silent corridor. And this door is somehow more terrifying than every other nightmare combined.

The fifth installment of the Harry Potter series is absolutely my favorite book in the series – which is funny, because it’s a lot of people’s LEAST favorite.  But I just love it.  There are several reasons why I love the book so much, but none of them really do justice to the comfort that the book brought me when I was recently suffering from a lapse in my reading (I’m still suffering, sort of, sad to say).

I love how much information we are given in this book.  At the end, when Harry and Dumbledore are having their yearly talk – after all the action has occurred, of course – Dumbledore tells Harry, and the reader, SO MUCH.  And it is at this point where the reader starts to understand just how much in the dark they’ve been all along, and also it made me wonder (the first time I read it) what else J.K. Rowling could possibly be hiding from me because obviously there had to be more (don’t worry, there’s more, but I’ll get to that when I review books 6 and 7).

I enjoy the action in this book.  There’s just so much suspense, so much drama – like WTF is going on with Harry’s dreams?  And WHY OH WHY can’t the Ministry figure out that Voldemort is really back?  And WHEN will this confrontation between the Order and Voldemort or the Death Eaters take place?  Because the entire book builds up to the fact that it will.  And I was totally satisfied with the scenes in the end of the book – with the craziness at the Ministry.  I remember the first time I read this one, I was reading so fast because I was so involved in the action that I had to go back and reread chunks because I was speed-reading in such a way as to miss crucial parts of the story.  I loved that!

I also don’t mind the teenage angsty-ness we see in Harry, Ron, and Hermione.  It actually made the book feel more authentic… they are fifteen years old, of course they are going to act like stupid teenagers half the time.  If they didn’t it just wouldn’t seem true to me.  I also appreciated how much more we got to see of Fred and George in this one, they are awesome characters and I love that Rowling developed them a little more here.

Okay, I’m done.  Too much gushing for one day.  I’m currently reading the sixth book so I should be reviewing that one soon.  I’m TRYING to get my review books read, and challenge books too, but I’m having trouble focusing, so these are a nice distraction from my responsibilities.🙂

More reviews –