Tags

paper-townsTitle:  Paper Towns

Author:  John Green

Published:  October 16, 2008

# of Pages:  320

ISBN:  978-0525478188

Rating:  4.5/5

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life–dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge–he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues–and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

Like Looking for Alaska, Paper Towns is full of amazing characters that feel truly alive to the reader.  John Green has a true talent for writing characters that come to life on the page; that feel like just the people you wish you were friends with.  I definitely felt that way about these characters, as I did with those in Looking for Alaska.

Paper Towns also had a great adventure throughout the book, an adventure that I happily participated in along with Quentin and his friends.  I don’t want to give too much away, because this is the kind of book where you really shouldn’t know a lot of the plot details going in, but I’ll just say that there truly are a lot of fun twists and turns in the story.  I am still not sure how I feel about the way the book ultimately turned out, but I’m willing to be unsure about that because of how excellent the rest of the book was.

I’m so glad I stuck with John Green after reading his first two books, and I’m absolutely excited to see what else he does from here on out.

More opinions –

