Review: Perfect… on Paper

Perfect… on Paper: The (mis)Adventures of Waverly Bryson – Maria Murnane

perfecton-paper

From the back cover –

When her fiance calls off their wedding at the last minute, Waverly Bryson wonders if her life will ever turn out the way she thought it would… or should.  Her high-powered job in sports PR?  Not so perfect.  Her relationship with her dad?  Far from it.  Her perfect marriage?  Enough said.

Perfect… on Paper is a humorous tale of Waverly’s efforts to cobble the pieces of a broken yesterday into a brand new tomorrow.  What does the future have in store for her?  Will she finally find what she’s looking for?

Perfect… On Paper was an extremely entertaining, funny, light read for me and I loved every minute of this novel.  Waverly is a fantastic character, so likable, that I couldn’t help but root for her throughout the entire book.  Even when she makes some decisions that I personally would not ever make, I loved her and wanted things to go her way.  The minor characters in this novel were also pretty great.  From Waverly’s two best friends, McKenna and Andie, to her superhot basketball player buddy Shane and his wife Kristina, to her crush Jake, these secondary characters really added to the story in such a positive way, in my opinion.  They were written very well, with just enough involvement to make you care about them, but just the right amount so the focus of the book remained on Waverly throughout.  The story moved along very seamlessly – I was never bored, never felt like there were unnecessary parts, and never wanted to put the book down (three things that often happen to me when I read chick lit novels).  Even though Perfect…On Paper is firmly entrenched in the chick lit genre, I found it to have a bit more depth than the typical chick lit book I am used to.  This made a pretty light read even more engaging than I would have expected.  I really enjoyed this book and will definitely be looking for more from Murnane in the future! 

Also reviewed by:

 

7 thoughts on “Review: Perfect… on Paper

  1. Your blog makes me add more books to my reading list than ant other. I’m not whether to thanks you or not 🙂 Of course, the fact that I keep coming back shows my lack of restraint.

Leave a Reply

