Review: Someone Like You

Someone Like You – Sarah Dessen

published 1998 – 281 pages

From the book jacket –

Halley and Scarlett have been best friends ever since they met.  Halley has always been the quiet one, Scarlett braver and more outgoing.  Halley has always turned to Scarlett when things get rough, and Scarlett has always known just what to do.  It’s the perfect setup.  But everything changes at the beginning of their junior year.  Scarlett’s boyfriend is killed in a motorcycle accident; then she finds out she’s carrying his baby.  For the first time ever, Scarlett really needs Halley.  Now Halley has to learn how to be strong for Scarlett.  It won’t be easy, but Halley knows that she can’t let Scarlett down.  Because a true friend is a promise you keep forever.

My thoughts –

This is the first of Sarah Dessen’s that I’ve read, and I’ll definitely be reading more of her books in the future.  I REALLY liked the style of the book, the way she wrote these characters, and the story here.  I mean, this woman knows how to write teens in a way that many authors do not.  Every word was just so completely real.  It hasn’t been too long since my teen years (I’m 24) and I can easily imagine how my friends and I would have felt and behaved in a situation similar to the one in the book, and what I imagine is pretty darn close to the way Halley and Scarlett were.  I’m not going to lie to you people – the ending to this one totally made me cry.  I have a love/hate relationship with books making me cry – on the one hand, it means that I got emotionally involved and really felt for the characters, which means it was probably a really good book; on the other hand, I don’t much enjoy crying, especially if it’s about something sad.  I’m not going to spoil the ending, but let’s just say that in this case, it was a worthy cry, and not one I felt resentment about.  Go read this book, especially if you are a YA fan – it’s a very good one.

Also reviewed by Sassymonkey at Sassymonkey Reads.

8 thoughts on “Review: Someone Like You

  1. Wow you really made me want to read this book! I love when authors can grab the feeling of teens and you are right, it’s really hard to do! I’m also 24 so I’m curious how I’ll feel about the book and my teens after I read it. Thanks for the review!

  2. Great review-makes me want to pick up this book for sure. I like quite a few of the YA books-many of them have an excellent story line and are just as interesting for adults. This one sounds really good-I do like a book that either makes me laugh out loud or cry-it means I’ve really connected with the characters and that’s something I look for in a novel.

  3. I’ve only read Dreamland by Sarah Dessen – which I would recommend – and I really like her. I agree, she seems to understand and write teenagers in a way that feels very real. I read Dreamland in one sitting because I just became so absorbed in the characters and the story. I’ll have to check out Someone Like You. Thanks for the review!

  4. This book sounds like something I’d like. I’m totally off to mooch it. 🙂

    I have to be in the mood for crying. So I’ll keep that in mind. I don’t want to be crying while I’m taking the bus, after all…

  5. So I’m almost done reading this book. And I don’t know why but I can’t stop to think about reading this book. I’m surprised the book is short. But it’s no interesting and grabs attention. Love it. Best book I’ve ever read. Honestly.

  6. I love this book(: made me realize alot of things. i love the way you wrote and i collect the books. i have read everyone of your books and im wantin more.

Leave a Reply

