Review – Maggie: A Girl of the Streets

Maggie: A Girl of the Streets by Stephen Crane

From the back cover -

While most of his contemporaries were still courting the sentimental myths of the Romantic era, Crane was exploring firsthand the New York East Side slum world of vagrants, harlots, and beggars.

His first novel, Maggie: A Girl of the Streets, the tale of a pretty young slum girl driven to brutal excesses by poverty and loneliness, was such a sexually frank and realistic portrait of that world that the book had to be first privately printed.  Not until three years later was it given official publication.

Despite the snarls of reviewers, the howls of Victorian outrage, Maggie not only survived but achieved enduring greatness.

My thoughts -

To put it as simply as possible, I did not enjoy this novella.  Luckily, at just under 90 pages, I was able to read it VERY quickly.  I don’t think it was written well, I didn’t like any of the characters, and I didn’t see much point in the entire story altogether.  There were a few moments throughout the story where I began to feel for Maggie and all that she had been through at the hands of her awful family, but then the boring/terrible storyline would take over and I would just want the book to end.  I can’t really recommend this book, so read it at your own risk. (dun dun dun…)