BTT – what I’m reading

It’s a holiday weekend here in the U.S., so let’s keep today’s question simple–What are you reading? Anything special? Any particularly juicy summer reading?

Well I haven’t participated in one of these in FOREVER, but I would really like to get back into the BTT groove, and this is an easy one to start with.  I can’t say I’m reading anything particularly juicy… but I am reading several books right now, so here they are…

First, I began Wuthering Heights a few nights ago as the first selection for the Classics Challenge, and it’s definitely been slow going so far.  I’m really awful at reading the classics, so I thought this challenge would help me become better, and I still think it will, but I do think it’ll be the toughest challenge to get through that I’ve participated in thus far.  I’m about 70 pages into this one and it’s just ok as of right now.

I’m also reading the His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman – I found one of those all three volumes in one massive book at Half Price Books for like 10 bucks and couldn’t turn it down.  I’ve never read these before, in fact the only fantasy I’ve really read is the Harry Potter series, and so far I’m enjoying The Golden Compass (I’m about halfway through it).

Third, I just started Maggie: A Girl of the Streets by Stephen Crane, which so far is also just ok.  I’m actually still not sure what the point of this novella is… it’s basically a family swearing and yelling at each other, then getting drunk and being depressed because they’re poor.  Oh well… at only about 90 pages, it’ll be an extremely quick read for me.

Also on my nightstand, soon to be started, are We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver and A Thread of Grace by Mary Doria Russell.  I’m hoping to finish one that I’m currently reading soon so that I can get to one of these, as I’m really looking forward to both of them.

What are YOU currently reading this 4th of July weekend?

6 thoughts on “BTT – what I’m reading”

  1. I’ve just started K.I.A. by Thomas Holland. I recently discovered his work and love it! He’s very talented. I’m also listening to THE BLUE HOUR by T. Jefferson Parker and DEAD IRISH by John Lescroart. This is my first book by Lescroart, and I’m glad I picked it up at the library. It’s turning out to be a great one!

  2. I tend to have a difficult time with reading classics as well, and it seems that the first few chapters are always the most difficult to get through. I really liked Wuthering Heights, and I hope it starts to pull you in soon so you can enjoy it!

  3. I found We Need to Talk About Kevin to be one of the most thought-provoking and disturbing books I’ve ever read. It is definitely a book that leaves its readers loving it or hating it. Although, “loving it” is a tough phrase to associate with this difficult-to-swallow book. I think it is brilliant.

  4. Wuthering Heights is hard, but what got me through it was thinking about everything as a big melodramatic soap opera. The whole book is just sort of absurd and over the top, which is why I really liked it. I hope it gets easier for you!

Leave a comment