As if I’m not already signed up for enough challenges, I decided to do two more.  I am rationalizing this by the fact that all the books I’m going to read for both challenges are already on my TBR shelves, and I really just need an excuse to read them.  That’s what I’m telling myself, anyway…

The first one is Trish’s Classics Challenge.  I’m going to go the simplest route, and just read five classics.  Here are my selections –

1. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

2. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

4. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

5. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

The second one that I’ll be joining is the Raved-About Reads Challenge.  I will be reading ten books that I have heard a lot about from many different people, have been meaning to read for a while, and have just not yet gotten to.  So here’s my list for that one –

1, 2, and 3. His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman

4. The Sister by Poppy Adams

5. Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris

6. The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff

7. Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill

8. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

9. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

10. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

The great thing about this second one is that it’s ongoing, with no deadline, so I don’t have to worry about making sure I read these ten by a certain time, and if I get sidetracked and start reading everything else I want to read, that’s totally ok. 🙂

